Forward Regulatory Plan: 2017-2019
Duty Free Shop Regulations

Description of the objective

In 2010, as part of the Strategic Review to identify potential savings, the Canada Border Services Agency reviewed the Duty Free Shop Regulations to find ways to minimize the Agency's oversight of the Duty Free Shop (DFS) industry and to reduce administrative burden on the DFS licensees.  Extensive consultations were held with industry stakeholders and based on the input received, the CBSA implemented five minor regulatory changes using the Customs Notice process to reduce administrative burden to both the CBSA and the DFS industry.

The five proposed amendments to the Duty Free Shop Regulations will formalize regulatory changes that were enacted and implemented by the CBSA through Customs Notice 14-031 and the Ministerial announcement on December 11, 2014.

Enabling Act: Customs Act

Indication of business impacts

There may be business impacts. The "One-for-One" Rule and/or the Small Business Lens may apply.

Public consultation opportunities

Prior to implementing these amendments, consultations were held with the following:

Canada has been administering these regulations as though the amendments are already in place since their public announcement by the CBSA in Customs Notice 14-031, published on December 11, 2014. Prior to formalizing these regulatory changes final consultation opportunity was provided to DFS industry stakeholders in November, 2016.  Industry stakeholders provided no further comments or feedback.

Departmental Contact

Tammy Landreville
A/Manager
Programs Branch
Canada Border Services Agency
Tel.: 613-941-3495
Tammy.Landreville@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca



For more information

Date modified:

Plan prospectif de la réglementation : 2017-2019
Règlement sur les boutiques hors taxes

Description de l'objectif

En 2010, pendant l'Examen stratégique visant à réaliser des économies, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a révisé le Règlement sur les boutiques hors taxes pour trouver des solutions afin de réduire au minimum la surveillance de l'ASFC du secteur des boutiques hors taxes (BHT) et alléger le fardeau administratif des titulaires de permis de BHT. De longues consultations se sont tenues avec les intervenants de l'industrie et suite aux commentaires reçus, l'ASFC a mis en œuvre cinq modifications réglementaires mineures, en publiant un Avis de douane, pour réduire le fardeau administratif pour elle-même et pour les BHT.

Les cinq modifications proposées au Règlement sur les boutiques hors taxes vont officialiser les changements réglementaires, qui étaient adoptés et mis en œuvre par l'ASFC à travers l'Avis des douanes 14-031 et l'annonce ministérielle du 11 décembre 2014.

Loi habilitante : Loi sur les douanes

Répercussions sur les entreprises

Il pourrait y avoir des répercussions sur les entreprises. La règle du « un pour un » et le point de vue des petites entreprises pourraient s'appliquer.

Possibilités de consultation publique

Avant l'opérationnalisation de ces changements, les entités suivantes ont été consultées :

Le Canada applique le Règlement comme si les changements étaient déjà en vigueur, puisqu'il avait déjà annoncé ceux-ci publiquement le 11 décembre 2014 dans l'Avis des douanes 14-031. Avant d'officialiser ces changements réglementaires, les intervenants de l'industrie des BHT ont été consultés une dernière fois en novembre 2016, et ceux-ci n'ont pas fourni de commentaires.

Personne-ressource au ministère

Tammy Landreville
Gestionnaire p. i.
Direction générale des programmes
Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Tél. : 613-941-3495
Tammy.Landreville@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca



Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Date de modification :