CBSA - Blueprint 2020 Report - December 2016
CBSA's Strategy to Support Mental Health

In July 2016, the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) launched‎ a comprehensive Strategy to Support Mental Health, accompanied by a three-year implementation plan. Many of the key activities have already been implemented, including the launch of mandatory Suicide and Self-harm Prevention training for employees working with people in our care, mandatory Mental Health Awareness and Creating a Respectful Workplace online training for all CBSA employees, and the launch of the Not Myself Today anti-stigma awareness campaign. The campaign launch was supported by information kiosks at both headquarters and in the regions, and was featured on the Agency's intranet site. This included information and employee video testimonials where employees shared their thoughts on mental health, their personal experiences, and the importance of talking about mental health in the workplace.

Mental health matters

2016-05-03
This video provides an overview of employee testimonials where they share their thoughts on mental health, their personal experiences, and the importance of talking about mental health in the workplace.

Transcript

Robert Nowosielski, Border Services Officer, Northern Ontario Region, on-camera.

Robert Nowosielski: When we look at mental health, we think about wellness as a whole. Personally, I've had my stressors; I'm sure that you have. It's just a regular part of our daily lives.

Hélène Larose, Manager, Employee Assistance Program, Headquarters, on-camera.

Hélène Larose: Statistics demonstrate that 20 percent of Canadians will at one point in their lifetime have a mental illness.

Lisa Janes, A/Director General Border Operations Directorate, Headquarters, on-camera.

Lisa Janes: What we need to do though is we need to create an environment that is a trusting environment, one where a person has the ability to come forward if they're going through a difficult time.

Jenny Trikalinos, Administrative Assistant, Headquarters, on-camera.

Jenny Trikalinos: Here at work, at CBSA, there is the Employee Assistance Program that can help you out. It's confidential, they will help you, they will give you resources, they will tell you what to do. So please don't feel alone.

Darlene Marion, Senior Program Officer, Headquarters, on-camera.

Darlene Marion: I've learned that you don't have to cope without support. There are many people around you who can help, and reaching out and taking that first step is so important.

Mélanie Harbec, Superintendent, Quebec Region, on-camera.

Mélanie Harbec: I would encourage you to talk to someone you trust. It doesn't have to be someone from the EAP; it could be a colleague, a parent, a friend.

Hélène Larose on-camera.

Hélène Larose: Mental illnesses are treatable. There are excellent treatment options which can help fulfill a person's life.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, 2016.

Canada.

Regional Mental Health strategies have also been developed, as well as numerous wellness committees and working groups. Managers and union representatives across Canada have actively promoted wellbeing in the workplace. We want to create an environment that promotes psychological health and safety, one that is a safe space for respectful and open dialogue.

Michael Tait, Acting Superintendent, Southern Manitoba District, Canada Border Services Agency - Prairie Region, and Ginger Knox, Emergency Management Coordinator, Corporate and Program Services Division, Canada Border Services Agency - Prairie Region

In the same year, the CBSA's Prairie Region implemented the Guarding Minds at Work survey (GM@W) as a pilot for the Agency. The survey is an anonymous and confidential tool to assist organizations in addressing psychological health and safety in the workplace. Organizing the launch included conducting consultations with key stakeholders such as the regional management team, regional communications, regional Customs and Immigration Union Branch executives and the CBSA headquarters wellness team. The survey assessed the current status of organizational health in the Prairie Region. The survey ended in October 2016, with a 71% participation rate. With the focus now shifting to improving areas of concern via a regional action plan, further collaboration and partnership with key stakeholders and employees will take place. Open communication continues to be ongoing, with all results available to employees on the regional intranet page.

Date modified:

ASFC - Rapport sur Objectif 2020 - Décembre 2016
Stratégie de l'ASFC pour appuyer la santé mentale

En juillet 2016, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a lancé une stratégie globale pour appuyer la santé mentale assortie d'un plan de mise en œuvre sur trois ans. Plusieurs des activités clés ont déjà été lancées, notamment trois formations obligatoires : « Prévention du suicide et de l'automutilation », pour les employés qui travaillent auprès des personnes sous la garde de l'ASFC, ainsi que « Sensibilisation à la santé mentale » et « Création d'un environnement de travail respectueux » pour tous les employés de l'ASFC. L'Agence a aussi créé la campagne Je ne me reconnais pas pour sensibiliser les employés et réduire la stigmatisation. Le lancement de la campagne a été souligné par des kiosques d'information à l'Administration centrale et dans les régions, ainsi que sur le site intranet de l'Agence. Cela comprend de l'information et une série de vidéos d'employés qui parlent de leurs points de vue sur la santé mentale, de leurs expériences personnelles et de l'importance de la santé mentale en milieu de travail.

La santé mentale compte

2016-05-03
Cette vidéo présente un aperçu des témoignages d'employés qui parlent de leurs points de vue sur la santé mentale, de leurs expériences personnelles et de l'importance de discuter de la santé mentale en milieu de travail.

Transcription

Robert Nowosielski, Agent des services frontaliers, Région du Nord de l'Ontario, devant la caméra.

Quand on s'intéresse à la santé mentale, on considère le mieux-être de façon globale. Personnellement, j'ai dû composer avec des irritants, et j'imagine que cela a dû vous arriver aussi. C'est une étape normale de la vie quotidienne.

Hélène Larose, Gestionnaire, Programme d'aide aux employés, Administration centrale, devant la caméra.

Hélène Larose : Les statistiques indiquent que 20 % des gens, à un certain point dans leur vie vont avoir une maladie mentale.

Lisa Janes, Directrice générale/I, Direction des opérations frontalières.

Lisa Janes : Ce qu'on doit faire, par contre, c'est créer un milieu de confiance où chacun sera capable de s'exprimer face à une situation difficile.

Jenny Trikalinos, Adjointe administrative, Administration centrale, devant la caméra.

Jenny Trikalinos : Ici au travail, à l'ASFC, il y a le Programme d'aide aux employés. C'est un service confidentiel qui vous aidera, qui vous donnera des outils et des conseils. Donc, de grâce, ne vous sentez plus seuls.

Darlene Marion, Agente principale de programme, Administration centrale, devant la caméra.

Darlene Marion : J'ai appris qu'on peut parfois avoir besoin d'autrui. Il y a bien des gens autour de nous qui peuvent nous aider, et aller vers eux, faire le premier pas est tellement important!

Mélanie Harbec, Surintendante, Région du Québec, devant la caméra.

Mélanie Harbec : Sentez-vous libre de parler avec une personne de confiance. Ça pas besoin d'être quelqu'un du PAE, ça peut être un collègue, un parent, un ami.

Hélène Larose devant la caméra.

Hélène Larose : Les maladies mentales peuvent être traitées. Les personnes touchées peuvent se tourner vers plusieurs solutions pour enrichir leur qualité de vie.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, 2016.

Canada.

Des stratégies régionales sur la santé mentale ont aussi été établies, de même que plusieurs comités sur le mieux-être et groupes de travail. Les gestionnaires et les représentants syndicaux de partout au Canada ont fait la promotion du mieux-être en milieu de travail. L'objectif est de créer un milieu de travail qui favorise la santé et la sécurité psychologiques, soit un environnement propice et sûr pour un dialogue ouvert et respectueux.

Michael Tait, surintendant intérimaire, District du Sud du Manitoba, région des Prairies, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, et Ginger Knox, coordonnatrice, Gestion des urgences, Division des services corporatifs et des programmes, région des Prairies de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

La même année, la région des Prairies de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) a lancé le sondage Protégeons la santé mentale au travail dans le cadre d'un projet pilote à l'Agence. Le sondage Protégeons la santé mentale au travail est un outil anonyme et confidentiel conçu pour aider les organisations à promouvoir la santé et la sécurité psychologiques en milieu de travail. Les préparatifs du lancement comprenaient des consultations avec des intervenants clés comme l'équipe de direction de la région, les communications régionales, les cadres régionaux du Syndicat des douanes et de l'immigration, ainsi que l'équipe du mieux-être à l'Administration centrale. Le sondage sert à évaluer l'état de santé organisationnel de la région des Prairies. Le sondage a pris fin en octobre 2016, avec un taux de participation de 71 %. Comme la priorité est maintenant de traiter les points à améliorer en établissant des plans d'action, des activités de collaboration et de consultation approfondies seront organisées avec les intervenants clés et les employés. Les lignes de communication restent ouvertes et les employés peuvent consulter tous les résultats sur la page intranet de la région.

Date de modification :