Help the Government of Canada organize its website! Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

Be Ready – Become a CBSA Officer

Application and Selection Process

The Public Service Commission of Canada (PSC) offers information on working for the federal government that may be useful if you are unfamiliar with how to apply for federal government jobs.

To become a Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) border services officer (BSO), you must first successfully complete the Officer Induction Training Program, be appointed to the Officer Induction Development Program as an officer trainee, and then successfully complete the development program.

The application and selection process to become a border services officer trainee involves 10 steps:

  1. Meet basic requirements
  2. Apply online
  3. Write required standardized tests
  4. Complete Second Language Evaluation, if required
  5. Meet the physical abilities standard
  6. Participate in an interview
  7. Secret security clearance and personnel security screening
  8. Meet and maintain psychological requirements
  9. Undergo a medical exam
  10. Meet and maintain all conditions of employment

Please note : This process may take up to one year to complete and some steps may run concurrently.

Communication for this selection process will be sent via email from the National Recruitment Team inbox, a generic email address, or Canada Post. Applicants must possess a valid email address that accepts messages from generic email addresses and unknown users. Some emails from generic and/or unknown email addresses are quarantined by some email providers so please make sure to check the spam folder regularly.

After applying via the jobs.gc.ca website, please check your email regularly as some correspondence may have a deadline for responding. Responses provided after the indicated deadline will not be accepted.

Additionally, it is important that applicants keep their contact information in their Public Service Resourcing System profile up-to-date so they don't miss important emails or test/interview results.

1. Meet the Basic Requirements

Applicants must meet these three basic requirements before they apply to the officer trainee (developmental) position:

Applicants are responsible for meeting all of these requirements on their own time and at their own expense. If an individual chooses to apply, they will be required to submit proof (original document and one (1) copy) at any time during the selection that they met these requirements when they applied. Again, this proof could be requested at any time during the selection process.

Personal Decision Point

Candidates must accept an assigned posting anywhere in Canada.

When you apply to the CBSA officer trainee (developmental) selection process, you need to be aware that you are volunteering for, and committing to, service anywhere in Canada that the CBSA needs you, including rural and remote areas. You need to fully understand and embrace the commitment you are making. The CBSA is very serious about mobility as a condition of employment. A variety of ports of entry will be available and a process is in place to allow you to indicate some preference; however, it is likely you will be assigned to an area of Canada that is totally new to you. Consult the Directory of CBSA Offices for more information.

Candidates are required to pay for their own travel expenses when attending the required tests, interview(s), physical abilities, medical, and psychological assessments as well as expenses related to meeting some operational requirements and conditions of employment.

2. Apply Online

Officer trainee (developmental) job openings are posted on the jobs.gc.ca website. To apply for any position, individuals must first create a profile in the system, which should only take about 10 minutes. Then, after ensuring you meet the basic requirements, scroll to the bottom of the poster for the officer trainee position and click on "Apply online."

In the application, individuals must clearly demonstrate how they meet all the basic requirements. Failure to do so will prevent individuals from moving forward with the assessments and the selection process.

Candidates who meet all of the basic requirements may be invited to write the required standardized tests.

3. Required Standardized Tests

If an applicant meets the basic requirements, they may be invited to write standardized test(s).

At the test session(s), you must bring proof of Canadian status (citizenship, permanent residence, etc.), and one piece of government issued photo identification with your signature and your permanent address (Canadian passport, Canadian citizenship card, permanent residence, valid driver's license). If a candidate fails to bring the required documents, they will not be permitted to write the tests.

If a candidate does not successfully complete the required standardized tests, they will be eliminated from further consideration.

4. Second Language Evaluation

The CBSA is committed to increasing its ability to provide service in both official languages across the country.

Some positions require employees to be bilingual, proficient in Canada's two official languages – English and French, while others require English only. For bilingual positions, employees must be able to communicate in English and in French at a BBB level. "BBB" refers to the levels that you must be able to demonstrate in reading, writing and oral communication in your second official language.

If a candidate is successful at the Second Language Evaluation (SLE), they may be invited to the next stage of the selection process.

If a candidate is not successful at the SLE, they will have to wait 30 days to re-test and refresh their application.

5. Meet the Physical Abilities Standard

The Agency's Physical Abilities Standard test is a screening tool used to assess a person's ability to perform the physically demanding use of force training that is taught as part of the Officer Induction Training Program.

Candidates are required to complete the Physical Abilities Requirement Evaluation (PARE) test during the CBSA officer trainee (developmental) selection process. This test is used by several law enforcement agencies and other government departments throughout Canada.

Candidates must complete the PARE  test in 4:45 minutes or less. Meeting this standard is an operational requirement for recruits to be appointed to the CBSA officer trainee (developmental) position.

Candidates must provide proof of successful completion of the PARE at the interview. Failure to do so will result in the candidate's elimination from further consideration and will have to re-apply to the selection process.

6. Interview

A top-down selection process could be used to invite candidates for interviews. This means the top scoring candidates from the required tests could be invited to interviews before candidates who scored lower on the tests. Other factors that determine interview timing include organizational needs, operational requirements, and bilingual capacity.

During the interview, the following competencies will be assessed:

  • Analytical thinking
  • Client service orientation
  • Dealing with difficult situations
  • Decisiveness
  • Effective interactive communication
  • Judgment
  • Personal integrity
  • Values and ethics

If a candidate is not successful in the interview, they will be eliminated from further consideration and cannot re-apply for two (2) years.

7. Secret Security Clearance Screening

As determined by the Policy on Government Security and CBSA requirements, at any point during the selection process, the CBSA could request candidates undergo the secret security clearance screening processes.

Candidates will receive an email from the Agency's security group requesting them to complete specific documentation and return it to the security group. This email does not come from the National Recruitment Team generic email address, so individuals are reminded to check their spam folders regularly as some emails from generic and/or unknown email addresses are quarantined by some email providers.

Once candidates have received the security screening email, they must obtain digital fingerprints to begin the security screening process. Candidates must print, complete and present the Digital Fingerprinting Request form to the nearest Commissionaires' office. The Commissionaires' office will take the candidate's fingerprints and return them to the Agency's Security Screening Division. The fingerprinting fee is $50 + GST/HST as applicable and must be paid at the time of the fingerprinting.

If you are not close to a Commissionaire's office, you have a couple of options. You could present yourself to the nearest CBSA security office that offers fingerprinting services or present yourself to the nearest municipal, provincial police or RCMP detachment for ink-and-roll fingerprints.

Please note that additional costs could be incurred and documentation could be required if you obtain ink-and-roll fingerprints from a municipal, provincial police or RCMP detachment.

Please note that the persons provided as references may be contacted.

Obtaining your security clearance is a condition of employment.

If you cannot obtain the required security clearance level, your application will be eliminated from further consideration.

8. Meet and Maintain Psychological Requirements

Psychological testing is a critical step for assessing potential candidates for a career in law enforcement.  The CBSA, along with other law enforcement agencies across Canada, uses psychological assessments as part of the recruitment processes to ensure that potential new officers are emotionally and psychologically suited to carry out and use non-lethal and lethal force equipment, including a firearm, and undergo use of force training.

The psychological testing and evaluation occurs in two stages and evaluates a candidate's suitability to carry a duty firearm. The assessments are used to identify possible judgment or behavioural issues which may negatively affect an individual's ability to exercise sound judgment in enforcement situations, and in particular where use of force may be required. Experienced clinicians and a clinical psychologist in designated offices across Canada administer the assessments.

Candidates who are found unsuitable will be eliminated from further consideration.

9. Medical Exam – Category III

The Treasury Board Occupational Health Evaluation Standard states that potential border services officers must undergo a Category III pre-placement evaluation. To do so, a physician designated by Health Canada will complete an Occupational Health Assessment Report, which will attest a candidate's physical ability to participate in the Officer Induction Training Program and subsequently perform the duties of a CBSA officer trainee. This evaluation is not the same as, and is not intended to replace a general physical examination provided by a personal physician.

The Category III evaluation includes the completion of a confidential health questionnaire by the employee and designated physician, followed by a full clinical history and a physical examination including vision and hearing tests. If required, an occupational health nurse or other appropriate licensed health care professional usually provides prophylactic immunizations and tests.

10. Meet and Maintain Conditions of Employment

Refer to the Before You Apply section for information on the conditions of employment that you must meet to become a CBSA officer trainee.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web! Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant .

Soyez prêts – Devenez agent de l'ASFC

Processus de présentation de candidature et de sélection

La Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) offre de l'information sur le travail à la fonction publique qui peut vous être utile si vous ne savez pas comment postuler pour un emploi au gouvernement.

Pour devenir agent des services frontaliers (ASF) de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), vous devez d'abord réussir le Programme de formation de base pour les agents, être nommé au Programme de développement de base d'agents stagiaires, puis réussir ce programme.

Le processus de présentation de candidature et de sélection pour devenir agent stagiaire de l'ASFC compte 10 étapes :

  1. Répondre aux exigences de base
  2. Postuler en ligne
  3. Passer les tests normalisés requis
  4. Passer l'évaluation de la langue seconde, au besoin
  5. Respecter la norme en matière d'aptitudes physiques
  6. Participer à une entrevue
  7. Obtenir la cote de sécurité de niveau « Secret »
  8. Répondre et continuer de répondre aux exigences psychologiques
  9. Subir un examen médical
  10. Remplir et continuer de remplir les conditions d'emploi

Veuillez noter que : Ce processus pourrait prendre jusqu'à un an, et certaines étapes pourraient être franchies au même moment.

Les communications pour ce processus de sélection seront envoyées par courriel de la boîte de l'équipe nationale de recrutement, d'une adresse électronique générique ou de Postes Canada. Les postulants doivent posséder une adresse électronique valide acceptant des messages d'adresses électroniques génériques et d'utilisateurs inconnus. Certains courriels provenant d'adresses électroniques génériques et/ou inconnues sont bloqués par certains fournisseurs de services de courriel; veuillez donc vous assurer de vérifier votre dossier de courriels indésirables sur une base régulière.

Après avoir postulé en ligne par le truchement du site Web emplois.gc.ca, veuillez vérifier votre courriel régulièrement, car certaines communications pourraient comporter une date d'échéance pour répondre. Les réponses reçues après la date d'échéance indiquée ne seront pas acceptées.

De plus, il importe pour les postulants de tenir à jour leurs coordonnées dans leur profil dans le Système de ressourcement de la fonction publique afin de recevoir tous les courriels importants ou les résultats de tests et d'entrevues.

1. Répondre aux exigences de base

Les postulants doivent répondre à ces trois exigences de base avant de postuler au poste (de développement) d'agent stagiaire :

Il incombe aux postulants de s'assurer de répondre à toutes ces exigences pendant leur temps libre et à leurs frais. Si une personne choisit de postuler, elle doit pouvoir présenter la preuve (le document original et une (1) copie) qu'elle répondait à ces exigences au moment de postuler. Cette preuve peut être demandée en tout temps lors du processus de sélection.

Point de décision personnelle

Les candidats doivent accepter une affectation n'importe où au Canada.

Lorsque vous posez votre candidature au processus de sélection d'agent stagiaire de l'ASFC (programme de développement), vous devez savoir que vous acceptez, et que vous prenez l'engagement, de travailler à n'importe quel endroit au Canada où l'ASFC a besoin de vos services, y compris des régions rurales et éloignées. Vous devez bien comprendre et accepter l'engagement que vous prenez. L'ASFC prend la mobilité très au sérieux en tant que condition d'emploi. Divers points d'entrée seront disponibles, et il existe un processus qui vous permet d'indiquer une certaine préférence; toutefois, il est probable que vous serez affecté dans une région du Canada qui vous est entièrement nouvelle. Veuillez consulter le Répertoire des bureaux de l'ASFC pour obtenir plus de renseignements.

Les candidats sont tenues de défrayer les frais personnels afin d'assister aux tests requis, entrevue(s), test d'aptitudes physique, examen médicaux et évaluations psychologique, ainsi que les dépenses reliés à la rencontre des exigences opérationnelles et conditions d'emploi.

2. Postuler en ligne

Les possibilités d'emploi (de développement) à titre d'agents stagiaires sont publiées sur le site Web emplois.gc.ca. Pour postuler à tout poste, il faut d'abord créer un profil dans le système, ce qui ne devrait prendre qu'environ 10 minutes. Par la suite, après s'être assuré de répondre aux exigences de base, il faut faire défiler l'écran jusqu'au bas de l'avis du poste d'agent stagiaire et cliquer sur « Postulez ».

Dans la demande d'emploi, les postulants doivent clairement démontrer en quoi ils répondent à toutes les exigences de base. Sinon, leur candidature ne sera pas considérée dans le cadre du processus d'évaluation et de sélection.

Les candidats répondant à toutes les exigences de base peuvent être invités à passer les tests normalisés requis.

3. Tests normalisés requis

Si un postulant répond aux exigences de base, il pourra être invité à passer des tests normalisés.

Aux examens, vous devez apporter la preuve de votre statut au Canada (citoyen, résident permanent, etc.) et une pièce d'identité avec photo délivrée par un gouvernement et comportant votre signature et votre adresse permanente (passeport canadien, carte de citoyenneté canadienne, carte de résidence permanente, permis de conduire valide). Si un candidat n'apporte pas les documents requis, il ne pourra pas subir les tests.

Si un candidat ne réussit pas les tests normalisés requis, sa candidature ne sera plus considérée.

4. Évaluation de la langue seconde

L'ASFC est engagée à accroître sa capacité à fournir un service dans les deux langues officielles et ce, partout au pays.

Certains postes exigent que les employés soient bilingues, c'est-à-dire qu'ils maîtrisent les deux langues officielles du Canada – l'anglais et le français, tandis que d'autres postes n'exigent que la maîtrise de l'anglais. En ce qui concerne les postes bilingues, les employés doivent être en mesure de communiquer en anglais et en français selon le niveau BBB. Les lettres « BBB » indiquent les niveaux requis pour la compréhension de l'écrit, l'expression écrite et l'interaction orale dans la seconde langue officielle.

Si un candidat réussit l'évaluation de la langue seconde (ELS), il pourra être invité à participer à la prochaine étape du processus de sélection.

Si un candidat ne réussit pas l'ELS, il devra attendre 30 jours avant de passer le test de nouveau et de renouveler sa candidature.

5. Respecter la norme en matière d'aptitudes physiques

Le test de la norme en matière d'aptitudes physiques de l'Agence constitue un outil de filtrage qui sert à évaluer les aptitudes d'une personne à suivre la formation physiquement exigeante sur le recours à la force qui est donnée dans le cadre du Programme de formation de base pour les agents.

Les candidats doivent passer le Test d'aptitudes physiques essentielles (TAPE) dans le cadre du processus de sélection (de développement) d'agents stagiaires de l'ASFC. Ce test est utilisé par plusieurs organismes d'exécution de la loi et d'autres ministères gouvernementaux à l'échelle du Canada.

Les candidats doivent passer le TAPE en 4:45 minutes ou moins. Le respect de cette norme constitue une exigence opérationnelle à laquelle les recrues doivent répondre pour être nommées au poste (de développement) d'agent stagiaire de l'ASFC.

Les candidats doivent présenter la preuve qu'ils ont réussi le TAPE lors de l'entrevue. S'ils ne le font pas, leur candidature ne sera plus considérée et ils devront postuler de nouveau.

6. Entrevue

Un processus de sélection descendante pourra être utilisé pour inviter les candidats à participer à une entrevue. Cela signifie que les candidats ayant reçu les notes les plus élevées aux tests normalisés requis pourront être invités à participer à une entrevue avant les candidats ayant reçu des notes moins élevées à ces tests. D'autres facteurs pouvant influer sur l'ordre des entrevues comprennent les besoins organisationnels, les exigences opérationnelles et les capacités en matière de bilinguisme.

Les compétences suivantes sont évaluées lors de l'entrevue :

  • Réflexion analytique
  • Souci du service à la clientèle
  • Capacité de composer avec des situations difficiles
  • Prise de décisions
  • Communication interactive efficace
  • Jugement
  • Intégrité
  • Valeurs et éthique

Si un candidat ne réussit pas l'entrevue, sa candidature ne sera plus considérée, et il ne pourra postuler de nouveau qu'après deux (2) ans.

7. Cote de sécurité de niveau « Secret »

Selon la Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement et les exigences de l'ASFC, en tout temps lors du processus de sélection, l'ASFC peut demander aux candidats de franchir les étapes pour obtenir la cote de sécurité de niveau « Secret ».

Les candidats recevront un courriel du groupe de sécurité de l'Agence leur demandant de remplir des documents précis et de les lui retourner. Ce courriel ne provient pas de l'adresse électronique générique de l'équipe nationale de recrutement; il est donc rappelé aux candidats de vérifier leur dossier de courriels indésirables sur une base régulière, car certains courriels provenant d'adresses électroniques génériques et/ou inconnues sont bloqués par certains fournisseurs de services de courriel.

Lorsque les candidats recevront le courriel sur l'enquête de sécurité, ils devront faire prendre leurs empreintes digitales pour lancer le processus d'enquête de sécurité. Les candidats doivent imprimer et remplir la Demande de prise des empreintes digitales numérisées et la présenter au bureau des commissionnaires le plus près. Le bureau des commissionnaires recevra les empreintes digitales des candidats et les retournera à la Division des enquêtes de sécurité de l'Agence. Les frais de dactyloscopie sont de 50 $, plus la TPS/TVH, le cas échéant, et doivent être payés par le candidat au moment de la prise des empreintes.

Si vous ne résidez pas près d'un bureau des commissionnaires, quelques options s'offrent à vous. Vous pouvez vous présenter au bureau de sécurité de l'ASFC le plus près qui offre des services de dactyloscopie, ou au poste du service de police municipal ou provincial ou au détachement de la GRC le plus près qui offre des services de dactyloscopie à l'aide d'un rouleau encreur.

Veuillez noter que des frais et des documents additionnels pourraient être exigés si vous obtenez des empreintes digitales prélevées à l'aide d'un rouleau encreur dans un poste d'un service de police municipal ou provincial ou un détachement de la GRC.

Veuillez noter qu'on pourrait entrer en contact avec les répondants désignés.

L'obtention de la cote de sécurité constitue une condition d'emploi.

Si vous ne pouvez pas obtenir le niveau de cote de sécurité requis, votre candidature ne sera plus considérée.

8. Répondre et continuer de répondre aux exigences psychologiques

Les tests psychologiques sont une étape cruciale de l'évaluation des candidats potentiels à une carrière d'exécution de la loi. L'ASFC, tout comme d'autres organismes de l'exécution de la loi à l'échelle du Canada, utilise les évaluations psychologiques dans le cadre des processus de recrutement pour s'assurer que les nouveaux agents potentiels sont aptes sur le plan émotionnel et psychologique à porter et à utiliser l'équipement de recours à la force non létale et létale, y compris une arme à feu de service, et à suivre la formation sur le recours à la force.

Les tests et les évaluations psychologiques se font en deux étapes, et visent à évaluer l'aptitude d'un candidat à porter une arme à feu de service. Les évaluations servent à déceler les problèmes possibles de jugement ou de comportement qui pourraient avoir une incidence négative sur la capacité d'une personne de faire preuve de jugement dans des situations d'exécution de la loi, en particulier lorsque le recours à la force pourrait être requis. Des cliniciens d'expérience et un psychologue clinicien dans des bureaux désignés à l'échelle du Canada administrent les tests.

Les candidatures des personnes jugées inaptes ne seront plus considérées.

9. Examen médical – catégorie III

Selon la Norme d'évaluation de santé professionnelle du Conseil du Trésor, les agents des services frontaliers potentiels doivent subir une évaluation préalable au placement de catégorie III. À cette fin, un médecin désigné par Santé Canada remplira un Rapport d'évaluation de santé au travail qui attestera des aptitudes physiques d'un candidat à participer au Programme de formation de base pour les agents et à exercer par la suite les fonctions d'un agent stagiaire de l'ASFC. Cette évaluation se distingue de l'examen physique général effectué par le médecin de famille de l'employé, et ne vise pas à le remplacer.

Pour l'évaluation de catégorie III, l'employé et le médecin désigné doivent, entre autres, remplir un questionnaire confidentiel sur la santé. Ensuite, les antécédents cliniques complets doivent être recueillis et un examen physique, notamment de la vue et de l'ouïe, doit être effectué. Au besoin, les immunisations prophylactiques et les tests sont donnés par l'infirmier en santé au travail ou un autre professionnel de la santé qualifié.

10. Remplir et continuer de remplir les conditions d'emploi

Consultez la section Avant de postuler pour vous familiariser avec les conditions d'emploi que vous devez remplir pour devenir agent stagiaire de l'ASFC.