Haiti Goods Deemed to be Directly Shipped to Canada for the Purposes of the General Preferential Tariff (GPT) and the Least Developed Country Tariff (LDCT)
Memorandum D11-4-28

Ottawa, April 02 2014

This document is also available in PDF (149 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

The editing revisions made in this memorandum do not affect or change any of the existing policies or procedures.

This memorandum contains the text of the regulations exempting goods originating in Haiti for which the benefits of the General Preferential Tariff (GPT) or the Least Developed Country Tariff (LDCT) will be claimed, from the condition of direct shipment from Haiti on a through bill of lading when the goods are shipped from the Dominican Republic.

Legislation

Customs Tariff
General Preferential Tariff and Least Developed Country Tariff Rules of Origin Regulations
Haiti Deemed Direct Shipment (General Preferential Tariff and Least Developed Country Tariff) Regulations
Proof of Origin of Imported Goods Regulations

Guidelines and General Information

1.   The General Preferential Tariff and Least Developed Country Tariff Rules of Origin Regulations, further described in Memorandum D11-4-4, Rules of Origin Respecting the General Preferential Tariff and Least Developed Country Tariff, stipulate that goods imported under the General Preferential Tariff or Least Developed Country Tariff must be shipped directly, with or without transhipment, from the country in which they originate.

2.   "Shipped directly" is defined in subsection 17(1) of the Customs Tariff as "…goods are conveyed to Canada from that other country on a through bill of lading to a consignee in Canada".

3.   The through bill of lading is one single document that accompanies the goods and states clearly the transportation route from the shipper in the producing country to a consignee in Canada.

4.   The Haiti Deemed Direct Shipment (General Preferential Tariff and Least Developed Country Tariff) Regulations exempt goods originating in Haiti from the condition of direct shipment on a through bill of lading.

5.   For the purposes of entitlement to the benefits of the General Preferential Tariff or Least Developed Country Tariff the Haiti Deemed Direct Shipment (General Preferential Tariff and Least Developed Country Tariff) Regulations allow goods originating in Haiti to be transhipped through a port in the Dominican Republic and conveyed from that port on a through bill of lading to a consignee in Canada.

6.   This exemption does not apply to the proof of origin requirements. Proof of origin showing that the goods originate in Haiti must be presented to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) pursuant to section 4 of the Proof of Origin of Imported Goods Regulations, as excerpted in Memorandum D11-4-2, Proof of Origin. Failure to furnish proof of origin when requested by an officer of the CBSA will result in the withdrawal of the benefits of the General Preferential Tariff or Least Developed Country Tariff and may result in the application of Administrative Monetary Penalty C152 - "Importer or owner of goods failed to furnish the proof of origin upon request."

7.   This memorandum comes into effect with the effective date of the Haiti Deemed Direct Shipment (General Preferential Tariff and Least Developed Country Tariff) Regulations, and is valid for the duration of these regulations.

Additional Information

8.   Information on the entry and accounting procedures for goods originating in Haiti and transhipped through the Dominican Republic when other supporting documentation respecting the shipment of goods is unavailable at the time of accounting, may be found in Memorandum D17-1-13, Interim Accounting (Provisional Documentation).

9.   For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
Legislative references:
Customs Tariff
Haiti Deemed Direct Shipment (General Preferential Tariff and Least Developed Country Tariff) Regulations
General Preferential Tariff and Least Developed Country Tariff Rules of Origin Regulations,
Proof of Origin of Imported Goods Regulations
Other references:
D11-4-2, D11-4-4, D17-1-13
Superseded memorandum D:
D11-4-28 dated April 13, 2010
Date modified:

Marchandises d’Haïti réputées être directement expédiées au Canada aux fins du Tarif de préférence général (TPG) et du Tarif des pays les moins développés (TPMD)
Mémorandum D11-4-28

Ottawa, le 02 avril 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (149 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Les modifications supplémentaires liées à la révision du texte qui ont été apportées ne modifient aucunement les politiques ou procédures existantes comprises dans le présent mémorandum.

Le présent mémorandum contient le libellé du règlement qui accorde une exemption aux marchandises originaires d'Haïti pour lesquelles les avantages du Tarif de préférence général (TPG) ou du Tarif des pays les moins développés (TPMD) peuvent être réclamés, sous condition d'expédition directe d'Haïti sur un connaissement direct lorsque les marchandises sont expédiées de la République dominicaine.

Législation

Tarif des douanes
Règlement sur les règles d'origine (Tarif de préférence général et Tarif des pays les moins développés)
Règlement sur l'assimilation à l'expédition directe d'Haïti (Tarif de préférence général et Tarif des pays les moins développés)
Règlement sur la justification de l'origine des marchandises importées

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1.   Le Règlement sur les règles d'origine (tarif de préférence général et tarif des pays les moins développés), décrit dans le Mémorandum D11-4-4, Règles d'origine aux fins du Tarif de préférence général et du Tarif des pays les moins développés, stipule que les marchandises importées sous le Tarif de préférence général ou le Tarif des pays les moins développés doivent être expédiées directement, avec ou sans transbordement, du pays duquel elles sont originaires.

2.   L'expression « expédition directe » est définie au paragraphe 17(1) du Tarif des douanes comme suit : « […] marchandises sont expédiées directement au Canada à partir d'un autre pays lorsque leur transport s'effectue sous le couvert d'un connaissement direct dont le destinataire est au Canada. »

3.   Le connaissement direct est un document unique qui accompagne les marchandises et énonce clairement la route de transport et ce, de l'expéditeur situé dans le pays producteur jusqu'à un destinataire au Canada.

4.   Le Règlement sur l'assimilation à l'expédition directe d'Haïti (tarif de préférence général et tarif des pays les moins développés) accorde une exemption aux marchandises originaires d'Haïti de la condition voulant l'expédition directe d'Haïti sur un connaissement direct.

5.   Aux fins d'admissibilité aux avantages du Tarif de préférence général ou du Tarif des pays les moins développés, le Règlement sur l'assimilation à l'expédition directe d'Haïti (Tarif de préférence général et Tarif des pays les moins développés) permet le transbordement de marchandises originaires d'Haïti à partir d'un port situé en République dominicaine et expédiées à partir de ce port par le biais d'un connaissement direct à un destinataire au Canada.

6.   Cette exemption ne s'applique pas aux exigences en matière de justification de l'origine. La justification de l'origine démontrant que les marchandises sont originaires d'Haïti doit être présentée à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) conformément à l'article 4 du Règlement sur la justification de l'origine des marchandises importées, tel que contenu dans le Mémorandum D11-4-2, Justification de l'origine. Toute omission de présenter une justification de l'origine sur demande d'un agent de l'ASFC aura pour conséquence le retrait des avantages conférés par le Tarif de préférence général ou le Tarif des pays les moins développés et peut avoir pour conséquence l'application de sanctions administratives pécuniaires C152, « L'importateur ou le propriétaire des marchandises a omis d'en justifier l'origine sur demande ».

7.   Le présent mémorandum entre en vigueur à la date d'entrée en vigueur du Règlement sur les règles d'origine (tarif de préférence général et tarif des pays les moins développés) et est valide jusqu'à ce que ledit règlement soit abrogé.

Renseignement supplémentaires

8.   Des renseignements sur les procédures d'entrée et de déclaration en détail des marchandises originaires d'Haïti et transbordées par l'intermédiaire de la République dominicaine lorsque d'autres documents pertinents sur l'expédition de marchandises ne sont pas disponibles au moment de la déclaration, se trouvent dans le Mémorandum D17‑1‑13, Déclaration provisoire (documents temporaires).

9.   Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumpin
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
 
Références légales :

Tarif des douanes
Règlement sur l'assimilation à l'expédition directe d'Haïti (tarif de préférence général et tarif des pays les moins développés)
Règlement sur les règles d'origine (tarif de préférence général et tarif des pays les moins développés)
Règlement sur la justification de l'origine des marchandises importées

Autres références :
D11-4-2, D11-4-4, D17-1-13
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D11-4-28 daté le 13 avril 2010
Date de modification :