Uniform Regulations – Chapter Four of the Canada-Panama Free Trade Agreement (CPAFTA)
Memorandum D11-4-29

Ottawa, April 09, 2014

This document is also available in PDF (87 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

  • This memorandum is issued to publish the Memorandum of Understanding between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Panama concerning the uniform regulations for the interpretation, application and administration of Chapter Four of the Free Trade Agreement between Canada and the Republic of Panama.

This memorandum contains the Memorandum of Understanding between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Panama concerning Uniform Regulations of Chapter Four of the CPAFTA.

Table of Contents

Guidelines and General Information

1.   The Uniform Regulationselaborate in detail how CPAFTA Parties will interpret, apply, and administer the obligations regarding customs procedures under Chapter Four. They are designed to ensure consistent and uniform treatment of, and greater certainty for, importers, exporters, and producers in Canada and Panama.

Additional Information

2.   For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 local time/except holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix - Memorandum of Understanding between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Panama Concerning Uniform Regulations for the Interpretation, Application and Administration of Chapter Four of the Free Trade Agreement Between Canada and the Republic of Panama

The Government of Canada ("Canada") and the Government of the Republic of Panama ("Panama"), hereinafter referred to as the "Participants", pursuant to Article 4.12 of the Customs Procedures Chapter of the Free Trade Agreement Between Canada and the Republic of Panama("the Agreement"); wishing to establish uniform regulations for the interpretation, application and administration of Chapter Four (Customs Procedures) of the Agreement; Have come to the following understanding:

Certificate of Origin

1.   The Participants will ensure that the Certificate of Origin referred to in Article 4.02 of the Agreement is:

2.   The Participants understand that for the purposes of Article 4.02(5)(a) of the Agreement, a single Certificate of Origin may be used for:

Regarding Importations

3.   The Participants will not subject to penalties an importer that makes a corrected declaration of origin pursuant to Article 4.03(1)(d) of the Agreement, and pays any duties owing, in accordance with Article 4.03(3)(b), where:

4.   The Participants understand that, where, as a result of an origin verification conducted under Article 4.07 of the Agreement, the customs administration of a Participant determines that a good covered by a Certificate of Origin that applies to multiple importations of identical goods in accordance with Article 4.02(5)(b) of the Agreement does not qualify as an originating good, that Certificate may not be used to claim preferential tariff treatment for identical goods imported after the date that the written determination is provided under Article 4.07(14) of the Agreement.

Exceptions

5. (a) The Participants will ensure that the statement referred to in Article 4.04(a) of the Agreement is equivalent in substance to the following:

"I certify that the goods referred to in this invoice/sales contract originate under the rules of origin specified for these goods in the Free Trade Agreement between Canada and the Republic of Panama and that further production or any other operation outside the territories of the Participants has not occurred subsequent to production in the territories".

Signature: ____________________   Date: ____________________
 (b) The statement, where required by the customs administration of the Participant into whose territory the good is imported, will be attached to, or handwritten, stamped or typed on the invoice for the good.

6.   The Participants understand that for the purposes of Article 4.04 of the Agreement, "series of importations" means two or more importations of a good accounted for separately but covered by one commercial invoice issued by the seller of the good to the purchaser of the good.

Records

7.   The Participants will require that the documentation and records maintained under Article 4.06 of the Agreement be maintained in such a manner as to enable an officer of the customs administration of a Participant, in conducting a verification of origin under Article 4.07 of the Agreement, to perform detailed verifications of the documentation and records to verify the information on the basis of which:

8.   The Participants will ensure that exporters and producers that are required to maintain records pursuant to Article 4.06(1)(a) of the Agreement, subject to the notification and consent requirements provided for in Article 4.07(5) of the Agreement, make those records available for inspection by an officer of the customs administration of a Participant conducting a verification visit and provide facilities for that inspection.

Origin Verifications

9.   The Participants understand that for the purposes of Article 4.07(1)(d) of the Agreement, the customs administration of a Participant may conduct a verification of origin with respect to a good that is imported into that Participant's territory by means of any method customarily used by the customs administration of the Participant conducting the verification.

10. The Participants understand that where their respective customs administrations conduct a verification under Article 4.07(1) of the Agreement, they may issue, on the basis of a response of an exporter or producer to a communication referred to in Article 4.07(1), a written determination under Article 4.07(14) of the Agreement in order to determine:

11. The Participants understand that, for the purposes of Article 4.07(11) of the Agreement, the customs administration conducting a verification visit will require an exporter or producer of a good to identify to that customs administration any observers designated to be present during that visit.

12. The common standards for the written questionnaires referred to in Article 4.07(1)(b) of the Agreement are set out in Annex II.

Advance Rulings

13. The common standards regarding the information to be submitted in an application for an advance ruling are set out in Annex III.

14. The Participants understand that for the purposes of Article 4.10 of the Agreement, an application to the customs administration of a Participant for an advance ruling will be completed in the language of that Participant, as set forth in paragraph 21 of this Memorandum of Understanding.

15. The Participants understand that for the purposes of Article 4.10(3) of the Agreement, if the customs administration of a Participant determines that an application for an advance ruling is incomplete, it may decline to process the application provided that:

16. The Participants understand that paragraph 4.10(4) of the Agreement and paragraph 3 will not be construed to prevent a person from reapplying for an advance ruling.

17. For the purposes of Article 4.10(8) of the Agreement, "importations of a good" is defined as:

Review and Appeal

18. The Participants understand that a determination of origin of a good by the customs administration of a Participant may be subject to review or appeal in accordance with Article 4.11 of the Agreement by the exporter or producer of the good who completed a Certificate of Origin for the good for which a claim for preferential tariff treatment was denied, including a denial of preferential tariff treatment under Articles 4.07(4) and 4.07(7) of the Agreement.

19. The Participants understand that where an advance ruling is issued under Article 4.10 of the Agreement, a modification or revocation of the advance ruling will be subject to review or appeal under Article 4.11 of the Agreement.

Miscellaneous

20. For the purposes of Chapter 4 of the Agreement and the Memorandum of Understanding, "completed" means completed, signed and dated.

21. The Participants understand that, for the purposes of this Memorandum of Understanding, the language of a Participant will be as follows:

22. Each Participant will ensure that its customs procedures governed by the Agreement are consistent with Chapter 4 of the Agreement and this Memorandum of Understanding.

Entry into Effect, Modification and Termination

23. This Memorandum of Understanding will enter into effect on the date of entry into force of the Agreement.

24. The Participants may amend this Memorandum of Understanding in writing at any time by mutual consent.

25. This Memorandum of Understanding will cease to have effect on termination of the Agreement.

Annex I - Form BSF631, Certificate of Origin – Free Trade Agreement Between Canada and the Republic of Panama, is available on the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) Web site.

Annex II - Common Standards for Written Questionnaires

1.   For the purposes of paragraph 12 of this Memorandum of Understanding, the Participants will seek to decide on uniform questions to be included in the general questionnaire.

2.   Subject to paragraph 3, where the customs administration of a Participant conducts a verification under Article 4.07(1)(b) of the Agreement, it will send to the exporter or producer the general questionnaire referred to in paragraph 1 of this Annex.

3.   For the purposes of Article 4.07(1)(b) of the Agreement, where the customs administration of a Participant requires specific information not provided in the general questionnaire, it may send to the exporter or producer a more specific questionnaire based on the information required to determine whether the good subject to verification is an originating good.

4.   For the purposes of paragraph 12 of this Memorandum of Understanding, the questionnaires, at the option of the exporter or producer, may be completed in either the language of the Participant into whose territory the good is imported or the language of the Participant in the territory where the exporter or producer is located.

Annex III - Common Standards for Information Required in the Application for an Advance Ruling

1.   For the purposes of Article 4.10(2) of the Agreement, the Participants understand that a request for an advance ruling will include the following:

2.   Where relevant to the issue that is the subject of the request for an advance ruling, the request must include, in addition to the information referred to in paragraph 1:

3.   Where the request for the advance ruling involves the application of a rule of origin that requires an assessment of whether materials used in the production of the goods undergo an applicable change in tariff classification, the request must include:

4.   Where the request for an advance ruling involves a value test, the applicant must indicate whether the request is based on the use of the transaction value or the net cost, or both.

5.   Where the request for an advance ruling involves the use of the transaction value, the request must include information sufficient to calculate the transaction value of the good with respect to the transaction of the producer or exporter of the good, in accordance with Article 3.04 of the Agreement.

6.   Where the request for an advance ruling involves the net cost of the good, the request must include:

7.   Where the request for an advance ruling is limited to the calculation of a value test, in addition to the information required under paragraph 1, only that information set out under paragraphs 4, 5 and 6 that is relevant to the issue that is the subject of the request for an advance ruling need be contained in the request.

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
Legislative references:
Other references:
Superseded memorandum D:
Date modified:

Règlement uniforme – Chapitre quatre de l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Panama (ALÉCPA)
Mémorandum D11-4-29

Ottawa, le 09 avril 2014

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (91 Kb) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

  • Le présent mémorandum est émis pour publier le Protocole d'entente entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République du Panama concernant la Réglementation uniforme portant sur l'interprétation, l'application et l'administration du chapitre quatre de l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la République du Panama

Le présent mémorandum contient le Protocole d'entente entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Panama concernant la Réglementation uniforme du chapitre quatre de l'ALÉCPA.

Table des matières

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1.   La Réglementation uniforme indiquera en détail la façon dont les Parties de l'ALÉCPA interpréteront, appliqueront et administreront les obligations du chapitre quatre touchant les procédures douanières. Elle est conçue pour garantir un traitement cohérent et uniforme, et une plus grande certitude, vis-à-vis des importateurs, des exportateurs et des producteurs du Canada et du Panama.

Renseignements supplémentaires

2.   Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe - Protocole d'entente entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République du Panama concernant la Réglementation uniforme portant sur l'interprétation, l'application et l'administration du chapitre quatre de l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la République du Panama

Le gouvernement du Canada (« Canada ») et le gouvernement de la République du Panama (« Panama »), ci-après désignés les « Participants », conformément à l'article 4.12 du chapitre sur les procédures douanières de l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la République du Panama (l'« Accord »); désireux d'établir une réglementation uniforme sur l'interprétation, l'application et l'administration du chapitre quatre (Procédures douanières) de l'Accord, Se sont entendus sur ce qui suit :

Certificat d'origine

1.   Les Participants veilleront à ce que le certificat d'origine dont il est fait mention à l'article 4.02 de l'Accord soit :

2.   Les Participants comprennent que, pour l'application du sous‑paragraphe 4.02(5)a) de l'Accord, un seul certificat d'origine peut être utilisé pour, selon le cas :

Obligations relatives aux importations

3.   Les Participants ne soumettront pas à une pénalité un importateur qui présente une déclaration d'origine corrigée en vertu du sous‑paragraphe 4.03(1)d) de l'Accord, et qui acquitte les droits exigibles conformément au sous‑paragraphe 4.03(3)b), si :

4.   Les Participants comprennent que lorsque, par suite d'une vérification de l'origine effectuée en vertu de l'article 4.07 de l'Accord, l'administration douanière d'un Participant détermine qu'un produit visé par un certificat d'origine applicable à des importations multiples de produits identiques conformément au sous-paragraphe 4.02(5)b) de l'Accord n'est pas admissible à titre de produit originaire, le certificat ne peut servir à demander un traitement tarifaire préférentiel à l'égard des produits identiques importés après la date où la détermination écrite est fournie en vertu du paragraphe 4.07(14) de l'Accord.

Exceptions

5.   a) Les Participants veilleront à ce que la déclaration mentionnée au sous‑paragraphe 4.04a) de l'Accord soit équivalente en substance à ce qui suit :

« J'atteste que les produits mentionnés sur cette facture/dans ce contrat sont originaires selon les règles d'origine énoncées à l'égard de ces produits dans l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la République du Panama et que ces produits n'ont subi aucune ouvraison supplémentaire ou autre transformation à l'extérieur des territoires des Participants après la production dans les territoires. »

Signature : ____________________   Date : ____________________

b)   La déclaration, lorsqu'elle est exigée par l'administration douanière du Participant sur le territoire duquel le produit est importé, sera manuscrite, estampillée ou dactylographiée sur la facture visant le produit, ou y sera annexée.

6.   Les Participants comprennent que pour l'application de l'article 4.04 de l'Accord, l'expression « série d'importations » signifie deux ou plusieurs importations d'un produit qui sont déclarées en détail individuellement, mais qui sont portées sur une seule facture commerciale établie par le vendeur à l'acheteur.

Registres

7.   Les Participants exigeront que des registres et documents conservés conformément à l'article 4.06 de l'Accord soient tenus de façon à permettre à un fonctionnaire de l'administration douanière d'un Participant d'effectuer, dans le cadre d'une vérification de l'origine en vertu de l'article 4.07 de l'Accord, un examen détaillé des documents et registres pour vérifier l'information en vertu de laquelle :

8.   Les Participants veilleront à ce que les exportateurs et les producteurs qui sont tenus de conserver des registres conformément au sous-paragraphe 4.06(1)a) de l'Accord mettent, sous réserve des exigences relatives à la notification et au consentement prévues au paragraphe 4.07(5) de l'Accord, ces registres à la disposition d'un fonctionnaire de l'administration douanière d'un Participant qui effectue une visite de vérification et qu'ils fournissent les installations nécessaires pour cette vérification.

Vérifications de l'origine

9.   Les Participants comprennent que pour l'application du sous‑paragraphe 4.07(1)d) de l'Accord, l'administration douanière d'un Participant pourra effectuer une vérification de l'origine d'un produit importé sur son territoire en recourant à toute autre méthode utilisée couramment par l'administration douanière du Participant qui effectue la vérification.


10. Les Participants comprennent que lorsque leurs administrations douanières respectives effectuent une vérification en vertu du paragraphe 4.07(1) de l'Accord, elle pourront fournir, compte tenu de la réponse fournie par un exportateur ou un producteur à une communication visée au paragraphe 4.07(1), une détermination écrite en vertu du paragraphe 4.07(14) de l'Accord établissant, selon le cas, que le produit :

11. Les Participants comprennent que pour l'application du paragraphe 4.07(11) de l'Accord, l'administration douanière qui effectue une visite de vérification exigera que l'exportateur ou le producteur d'un produit lui précise le nom de tout observateur désigné devant être présent durant la visite.

12. Les normes communes quant aux questionnaires visées au sous‑paragraphe 4.07(1)b) de l'Accord sont énoncées à l'annexe II.

Décisions anticipées

13. Les normes communes quant aux renseignements à fournir dans une demande de décision anticipée sont énoncées à l'annexe III.

14. Les Participants comprennent que pour l'application de l'article 4.10 de l'Accord, une demande de décision anticipée présentée à l'administration douanière d'un Participant sera remplie dans la langue de ce Participant, conformément au paragraphe 21 du présent protocole d'entente.

15. Les Participants comprennent que, pour l'application du paragraphe 4.10(3) de l'Accord, si l'administration douanière d'un Participant détermine qu'une demande de décision anticipée est incomplète, elle peut refuser de poursuivre l'étude de la demande, à la condition :

16. Les Participants comprennent que le paragraphe 4.10(4) de l'Accord et le paragraphe 3 n'auront pas pour effet d'empêcher une personne de présenter une nouvelle demande de décision anticipée.

17. Pour l'application du paragraphe 4.10(8) de l'Accord, l'expression « importations d'un produit » signifie :

Révision et appel

18. Les Participants comprennent qu'une détermination d'origine d'un produit faite par l'administration douanière d'un Participant pourra faire l'objet d'un appel conformément à l'article 4.11 de l'Accord par l'exportateur ou le producteur qui a rempli le certificat d'origine pour le produit à l'égard duquel une demande de traitement tarifaire préférentiel a été refusée, y compris dans le cas d'un refus de traitement tarifaire préférentiel en vertu des paragraphes 4.07(4) et 4.07(7) de l'Accord.

19. Les Participants comprennent que lorsqu'une décision anticipée est rendue en vertu de l'article 4.10 de l'Accord, une modification ou une annulation de la décision anticipée sera assujettie à une révision et à un appel en vertu de l'article 4.11 de l'Accord.

Dispositions diverses

20. Pour l'application du chapitre 4 de l'Accord et du présent protocole d'entente, « rempli » signifie rempli, signé et daté.

21. Les Participants comprennent que pour l'application du présent protocole d'entente, la langue des Participants sera :

22. Chacun des Participants veillera à ce que ses procédures douanières régies par l'Accord soient conformes au chapitre 4 de l'Accord et au présent protocole d'entente.

Prise d'effet, modification, et fin

23. Le présent protocole d'entente prendra effet à la date d'entrée en vigueur de l'Accord.

24. Les Participants pourront en tout temps, par consentement mutuel, modifier par écrit le présent protocole d'entente.

25. Le présent protocole d'entente cessera d'avoir effet à la dénonciation de l'Accord.

Annexe I - Le formulaire BSF631, Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la République du Panama, est disponible sur le site Web de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Annexe II - Normes communes quant aux questionnaires

1.   Pour l'application du paragraphe 12 du présent protocole d'entente, les Participants tenteront d'établir les questions que le questionnaire général devra contenir.

2.   Sous réserve du paragraphe 3, lorsque l'administration douanière d'un Participant effectue une vérification en vertu du sous paragraphe 4.07(1)b) de l'Accord, elle enverra à l'exportateur ou au producteur le questionnaire général visé au paragraphe 1 de la présente annexe.

3.   Pour l'application du sous-paragraphe 4.07(1)b) de l'Accord, lorsque l'administration douanière d'un Participant exige des renseignements précis non fournis dans le questionnaire général, elle pourra envoyer à l'exportateur ou au producteur un questionnaire plus précis, en fonction des renseignements nécessaires pour déterminer si le produit qui fait l'objet de la vérification est un produit originaire.

4.   Pour l'application du paragraphe 12 du présent protocole d'entente, les questionnaires de vérification pourront, selon le choix de l'exportateur ou celui du producteur, être remplis dans la langue du Participant sur le territoire duquel le produit est importé ou dans la langue du Participant sur le territoire duquel se trouve l'exportateur ou le producteur.

Annexe III - Normes communes quant à l'information exigée en cas de demande de décision anticipée

1.   Pour l'application du paragraphe 4.10(2) de l'Accord, les Participants comprennent qu'une demande de décision anticipée inclura les éléments suivants :

2.   Lorsque cela est pertinent, la demande de décision anticipée devra contenir, outre l'information visée au paragraphe 1 :

3.   Si la demande de décision anticipée porte sur l'application d'une règle d'origine exigeant qu'on évalue si les matières utilisées pour produire le produit font l'objet d'un changement de classement tarifaire, la demande devra inclure ce qui suit :

4.   Si la demande de décision anticipée met en cause un critère de valeur, le requérant devra indiquer si la demande est basée sur la valeur transactionnelle ou le coût net, ou les deux.

5.   Si la demande de décision anticipée suppose le recours à la méthode de la valeur transactionnelle, elle devra inclure des renseignements suffisants pour permettre le calcul de la valeur transactionnelle du produit dans le contexte de la transaction avec le producteur ou l'exportateur, conformément à l'article 3.04 de l'Accord.

6.   Si la demande de décision anticipée concerne la méthode du coût net, elle devra inclure :

7.   Si la demande de décision anticipée porte uniquement sur le calcul du critère de valeur, il suffit alors, outre l'information exigée en vertu du paragraphe 1, de donner l'information décrite aux paragraphes 4, 5 et 6 qui est pertinente au regard de l'objet de la demande.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des programmes commerciaux et antidumping
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
Références légales :
Autres références :
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
Date de modification :