Interpretation of Section 3 of the Imported Goods Records Regulations
Memorandum D11-8-6

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, August 19, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (69 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum updates the Canada Border Services Agency's policy regarding the keeping of records in accordance with paragraph 3(a.1) of the Imported Goods Records Regulations and includes new paragraph 15 along with a consequential amendment to the Appendix.

This memorandum explains the Canada Border Services Agency's (CBSA) policy regarding section 3 of the Imported Goods Records Regulations (Regulations), for commercial goods that have been released free of duty or at a reduced rate of duty based upon their intended use in the manner specified in the tariff item.

Legislation

Customs Act – Subsections 40(1), 164(1) and 167.1

Imported Goods Records Regulations – Section 3

Customs Tariff

Guidelines and General Information

General direction for the keeping of records regarding conditional relief tariff items

1. While proof of actual use is not required at the time of importation, when asked, the importer must be able to demonstrate that the criteria upon which conditional relief was granted, have been met. This obligation continues for four years following the accounting of the goods.

2. This is in accordance with subsection 40(1) of the Customs Act and section 3 of the Regulations, which require the importer or owner of the imported goods to maintain certificates or records of actual use and that they are readily available for inspection by a CBSA officer, when requested.

3. A certificate or record of actual use is a written document affirming that the imported goods have been or will be used in accordance with the provisions of the conditional relief tariff item. Diversions from the qualifying use must be reported.

4. The certificate or record must:

5. Such certificate or record must be signed by the user of the goods. If the certificate states that the goods will be used in a qualifying manner, rather than that the goods have been used in a qualifying manner, the importer should ensure the user accepts the responsibility to report any diversion to a non-qualifying use to the importer.

6. However, where the goods are used directly by the importer, a certificate or record merely repeats the declaration made at time of accounting. In such cases, satisfactory documentation of the importers' operations demonstrating the actual use of the goods may be requested. In the event of a compliance verification, audit or review, the importer may be asked to provide details of their manufacturing process, inventory records, production records, etc.

7. Imported goods that are sold by the importer to a purchaser that then uses them in a qualifying manner still meet the conditions for the relief. However, the importer must obtain and keep the required certificate or record signed by the purchaser affirming its use of the goods.

8. For example, palm oil imported and then sold to a company that uses it to manufacture margarine qualifies for the benefits of tariff item 1511.90.20 ("Palm oil and its fractions for use in the manufacture of margarine and shortening"), provided the importer obtains and keeps records from the manufacturer indicating the actual use made of the commercial goods.

9. However, palm oil that is to be sold to a company that does not manufacture margarine or shortening cannot be imported under tariff item 1511.90.20 as there is no reasonable expectation that the conditions of relief will be met.

10. Furthermore, palm oil imported under tariff item 1511.90.20 with the intention of it being used to manufacture margarine, but that is later sold and used to manufacture lip balm, has been diverted from the qualifying use.

11. Goods for which the benefits of a conditional relief tariff item are claimed but that are then used in a non-qualifying manner are considered to have been diverted from the qualifying use (see Memorandum D11- 8-5, Conditional Relief Tariff Items). Pursuant to subsection 32.2(6) of the Customs Act the importation related to such goods must be corrected by the importer on a B2, Canada Customs – Adjustment Request, in order to pay any applicable duties and taxes. For instructions on the coding and completion of a B2 please refer to Memorandum D17-2-1, Coding of Adjustment Request Forms.

Record keeping requirements for articles that qualify under paragraph 3(a.1) of the amended Regulations

12. The CBSA will administer the Regulations in the manner specified in the amended regulation for importations made on and after , as the amendment is retroactive to that date.

13. The provisions of the general direction for the keeping of records regarding conditional relief tariff items (see above), apply to all importation of commercial goods released free of duty under tariff item 9948.00.00 prior to .

14. The amendment to section 3 of the Regulations inserted new paragraph "(a.1)".

15. The CBSA interprets the phrase, "… the intended use of the commercial goods …", found in new paragraph 3(a.1), to mean that the design of the article is such that it becomes integral to a host good listed in tariff item 9948.00.00 (i.e. wrought into or incorporated into), or can be both connected to that host good and capable of enhancing or complementing its function. The attestation, mentioned in paragraph 3(a.1), is the importer's affirmation that the article meets that standard.

16. Therefore, the requirement under the Regulations to keep records documenting the actual use of an article, imported under tariff item 9948.00.00, no longer applies for articles that meet the requirements of the amendment and that were imported on or after .

17. Consequently, instead of keeping records of actual use, the importer is only required to provide an attestation as to the intended use of the article.

18. An attestation is a written statement by the importer that must include the following information about the article:

19. Under the amended Regulations, users will not be required to provide a certificate or other record that indicates the actual use made of the article.

20. Furthermore, the CBSA will not require the user to report diversions to the importer.

Additional Information

21. For certainty regarding the tariff classification of a product, importers may request an advance ruling for tariff classification. Details on how to make such a request are found in CBSA Memorandum D11-11-3, Advance Rulings for Tariff Classification.

22. An advance ruling may only consider the potential of the goods to satisfy the conditional relief requirements of a tariff item. An advance ruling does not impact the record keeping obligations including any obligations to demonstrate actual use nor does it impact the obligation that the importations actually satisfy the conditions for relief.

23. For more information, within Canada call the Border Information Service at 1-800-461-9999. From outside Canada call 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064. Long distance charges will apply. Agents are available Monday to Friday (08:00 – 16:00 your local time / except statutory holidays). TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

Attestation

(Insert the importer name, address and contact information)
(Insert the broker or agent name and address [if applicable])

Description of Goods

(Insert the description of the article [e.g., product name, model number, etc.])

Attestation

The above described article is classified under (insert the tariff classification number), with the conditional relief benefits of tariff item 9948.00.00.

I, (insert name of the individual signing the attestation) in the occupation of (insert occupation of the individual signing the attestation) hereby attest that the above described article has been imported into Canada and that the design of the article is such that it becomes integral to (i.e. wrought into or incorporated into), or can be both connected to and capable of enhancing or complementing the function of (insert the specific host good listed in tariff item 9948.00.00 in which the imported article will be "for use in").

Date:
Signature:

References

Issuing office:
Trade and Anti-dumping Programs Directorate
Headquarters file:
HS 9948.00
Legislative references:
Customs Act
Imported Goods Records Regulations
Customs Tariff
Other references:
D11-8-5, D11-11-3, D17-2-1
Forms B2
Superseded memorandum D:
D11-8-6 dated
Date modified:

Interprétation de l'article 3 du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l'importation de marchandises
Mémorandum D11-8-6

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 19 août 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (75 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum met à jour la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada concernant la conservation de documents conformément à l'alinéa 3 a.1) du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l'importation de marchandises, et comprend le nouveau paragraphe 15 et une modification à l'annexe corrélative.

Le présent mémorandum explique la politique de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) concernant l'article 3 du Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l'importation de marchandises (Règlement), pour les marchandises commerciales qui ont été dédouanées en franchise de droits ou à un taux réduit de droits en raison de leur destination à un certain usage précis établi dans le numéro tarifaire.

Législation

Loi sur les douanes – paragraphes40(1), 164(1) et 167.1

Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l'importation de marchandises – article 3

Tarif des douanes

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

Directives générales pour la conservation des documents dans le cas des numéros tarifaires accordant une exonération conditionnelle

1. Bien qu'une preuve de l'utilisation réelle ne soit pas requise au moment de l'importation, l'importateur doit pouvoir démontrer, sur demande, que les conditions d'exonération conditionnelle ont été respectées. Il a cette obligation pendant les quatre années qui suivent la déclaration en détail des marchandises.

2. Cette obligation est conforme au paragraphe 40(1) de la Loi sur les douanes et à l'article 3 du Règlement, selon lesquels l'importateur ou le propriétaire des marchandises importées doit conserver des attestations ou des documents relatifs à l'utilisation réelle des marchandises, et un agent de l'ASFC doit pouvoir accéder à ces attestations ou documents sur demande à des fins d'inspection.

3. Une attestation ou un document relatif à l'utilisation réelle de marchandises confirme par écrit que les marchandises importées ont été, ou seront, utilisées conformément aux conditions précisées dans le numéro tarifaire accordant l'exonération conditionnelle. Toute réaffectation des marchandises à une utilisation non admissible doit être signalée.

4. Cette attestation ou ce document doit :

5. L'attestation ou le document en question doit être signé par l'utilisateur des marchandises. Si l'attestation indique que les marchandises seront utilisées d'une façon admissible, plutôt que de s'assurer que les marchandises ont été utilisées d'une façon admissible, l'importateur doit veiller à ce que l'utilisateur accepte la responsabilité de lui signaler toute réaffectation des marchandises à une utilisation non admissible.

6. Toutefois, lorsque les marchandises sont utilisées directement par l'importateur, l'attestation ou le document reproduit simplement la déclaration en détail. En pareils cas, des documents satisfaisants concernant les activités de l'importateur qui démontrent l'utilisation réelle des marchandises pourraient être exigés. S'il y a vérification, audit ou examen de conformité, l'importateur pourrait devoir fournir des précisions sur le processus de fabrication, ainsi que des documents relatifs à ses stocks, à la production, etc.

7. Les marchandises importées qui sont vendues par l'importateur à un acheteur qui les utilise ensuite d'une façon admissible répondent toujours aux conditions de l'exonération. Toutefois, l'importateur doit obtenir et conserver l'attestation ou le document nécessaire signé par l'acheteur déclarant l'utilisation qu'il compte faire des marchandises.

8. Par exemple, de l'huile de palme importée puis vendue à une société qui l'utilise dans la fabrication de margarine peut bénéficier des avantages prévus au numéro tarifaire 1511.90.20 (« Huile de palme et ses fractions devant servir à la fabrication de margarine et de shortening »), à la condition que l'importateur obtienne du fabricant des documents indiquant l'utilisation réelle des marchandises commerciales, et qu'il conserve ces documents.

9. Toutefois, l'huile de palme qui est destinée à être vendue à une société qui ne fabrique pas de margarine ou de shortening ne peut pas être importée sous le numéro tarifaire 1511.90.20, car l'importateur ne peut pas raisonnablement s'attendre à ce que les conditions d'exonération soient respectées.

10. En outre, si de l'huile de palme est importée sous le numéro tarifaire 1511.90.20 dans le but d'être utilisée dans la fabrication de margarine, mais qu'elle est vendue ultérieurement pour servir à la fabrication de baume à lèvres, elle a alors été réaffectée à une utilisation non admissible.

11. Les marchandises à l'égard desquelles les avantages prévus à un numéro tarifaire accordant une exonération conditionnelle sont demandés, mais qui sont par la suite utilisées d'une façon non admissible, sont considérées comme ayant été réaffectées à une utilisation non admissible (voir le Mémorandum D11-8-5, Numéros tarifaires qui accordent une exonération conditionnelle). Conformément au paragraphe 32.2(6) de la Loi sur les douanes, l'importation de telles marchandises doit être corrigée par l'importateur au moyen du formulaire B2, Douanes Canada – Demande de rajustement, afin de payer tous les droits et taxes exigibles. Pour obtenir des directives sur le codage et la façon de remplir le formulaire B2, consultez le Mémorandum D17-2-1, Codage des formules de demande de rajustement.

Exigences en matière de conservation de documents pour les articles visés par l'alinéa 3 a.1) du Règlement modifié

12. L'ASFC appliquera le Règlement de la façon prescrite dans le Règlement modifié pour les importations effectuées à partir du , car la modification a un effet rétroactif à compter de cette date.

13. Les dispositions ci-dessus des directives générales pour la conservation des documents dans le cas des numéros tarifaires accordant une exonération conditionnelle s'appliquent à toutes les importations de marchandises commerciales dédouanées en franchise de droits sous le numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00 avant le .

14. La modification apportée à l'article 3 du Règlement ajoute le nouvel alinéa « a.1) ».

15. L'ASFC interprète la phrase « …l'usage auquel elles sont destinées » qui se trouve à l'alinéa 3 a.1) comme voulant dire que la conception de la marchandise est telle qu'elle devient partie intégrante de l'article hôte figurant dans le numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00 (c.-à-d. par voie d'ouvraison ou d'incorporation), ou qu'elle peut être connectée à un article hôte tout en ayant la capacité d'améliorer ou de compléter sa fonction. L'attestation, qui est mentionnée à l'alinéa 3 a.1), est l'affirmation de l'importateur que l'article respecte cette norme.

16. Par conséquent, l'exigence du Règlement qui consiste à conserver les documents indiquant l'utilisation réelle d'un article importé sous le numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00 ne s'applique plus aux articles qui répondent aux exigences de la modification et qui ont été importés le ou qui sont importés depuis cette date.

17. Par conséquent, plutôt que de conserver des documents sur l'utilisation réelle d'un article, l'importateur n'est tenu que de fournir une attestation sur l'utilisation prévue de l'article.

18. Une attestation d'importateur est une déclaration écrite de l'importateur comprenant les renseignements suivants sur l'article :

19. Selon le Règlement modifié, les utilisateurs ne seront pas tenus de fournir une attestation ni aucun autre document indiquant l'utilisation réelle de l'article.

20. En outre, l'ASFC ne demandera pas aux utilisateurs de signaler les réaffectations de marchandises à l'importateur.

Renseignements supplémentaires

21. Les importateurs qui veulent s'assurer du classement tarifaire d'un produit peuvent demander une décision anticipée de classement tarifaire. Des précisions sur la manière de présenter cette demande sont données dans le Mémorandum D11-11-3, Décisions anticipées en matière de classement tarifaire.

22. Une décision anticipée ne peut porter que sur la possibilité que les marchandises respectent les exigences d'exonération conditionnelle d'un numéro tarifaire. Une décision anticipée n'a pas d'incidence sur les obligations de conservation de documents, notamment sur les obligations de prouver l'utilisation réelle des marchandises, et elle n'a pas non plus d'incidence sur l'obligation que les importations respectent les conditions d'exonération.

23. Pour plus d'information, si vous êtes au Canada, communiquez avec le Service d'information sur la frontière au 1-800-461-9999. De l'extérieur du Canada, composez le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064. Des frais d'interurbain seront facturés. Les agents sont disponibles durant les heures normales d'ouverture des bureaux (8 h à 16 h, heure locale), du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés). Un ATS est aussi disponible pour les appels provenant du Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Attestation

(Insérer les nom, adresse et coordonnées de l’importateur)
(Insérer les nom et adresse du courtier ou du mandataire [le cas échéant])

Description des marchandises

(Insérer la description de l’article [p. ex. nom du produit, numéro de modèle, etc.])

Attestation

L’article décrit ci-dessus est classé sous le (numéro de classement tarifaire), et il est admissible à l’exonération conditionnelle prévue au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00.

Moi, soussigné(e), (insérer le nom du signataire de l’attestation), exerçant la profession de (insérer la profession du signataire de l’attestation), je déclare par la présente que l’article susmentionné a été importé au Canada et que la conception de l’article est telle qu’il devient partie intégrante (c.-à-d. par voie d’ouvraison ou d’incorporation), ou peut être connecté tout en ayant la capacité d’améliorer ou de compléter la fonction de (insérer l’article parmi ceux qui sont énumérés au numéro tarifaire 9948.00.00 dans lequel l’article importé doit « devant servir dans »).

Signature de l’importateur :
Date :

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Direction des droits antidumping et compensateurs
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
SH 9948.00
Références légales :

Loi sur les douanes
Règlement sur les documents relatifs à l'importation de marchandises
Tarif des douanes

Autres références :
D11-8-5, D11-11-3, D17-2-1
Formulaires B2,
Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D11-8-6 daté le
Date de modification :