Canadian Economic Sanctions
Memorandum D19-11-1

Ottawa, December 16, 2016

ISSN 2369-2391

This document is also available in PDF (87 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been updated to:

  • (a) reflect the name change from Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada to Global Affairs Canada;
  • (b) update the office of primary interest information; and,
  • (c) update text and link where necessary to relevant legislation and regulations.

Legislation

Guidelines and General Information

1. The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) assists Global Affairs Canada with the administration of the United Nations Act, the Special Economic Measures Act, the Export and Import Permits Act and associated regulations. This memorandum outlines the key elements of the legislation administered by the CBSA.

2. This document covers elements of the sanctions regime relating to restrictions on the import and/or export of goods that the CBSA has direct involvement in administering. It does not include all measures that may have been imposed against a foreign state, persons in a foreign state, or designated persons (e.g., restrictions on financial transactions and provision of technical assistance).

3. The imposition of trade and economic sanctions against foreign States and non-State actors remains an important instrument for the international community in the enforcement of internationals norms and laws. The Parliament of Canada has enacted legislation authorizing the imposition of trade and economic sanctions through the United Nations Act, the Special Economic Measures Act, and some provisions of Export and Import Permits Act. Global Affairs Canada is the department responsible for the administration of these statutes. The CBSA and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) assist Global Affairs Canada by ensuring compliance with and enforcement of the regulations under the above noted Acts.

4. Changes to sanctions may occur frequently and on short notice as international situations continually evolve. To obtain a current up-to-date listing of the various countries and groups that are subject to Canadian economic sanctions, please refer to the regulations made under the United Nations Act, the Special Economic Measures Act and to the Area Control List under the Export and Import Permits Act. The Global Affairs Canada sanctions website contains the most up-to-date information on the various sanctions regimes.

Import / Export Prohibitions and Restrictions

5. The import and export prohibitions and restrictions under Canada's sanctions regime cover a wide range of commodities that include but are not limited to: arms and related material, luxury goods, nuclear and nuclear and nuclear related goods, certain sector-specific goods, etc. The CBSA has direct involvement in the administration of those aspects of the regulations that relate to the import and/or export of such goods. As set out in regulations under the United Nations Act and the Special Economic Measures Act there are prohibitions on the provision of any goods to, or dealing in the property of, a designated or "listed" person. These prohibitions are also applicable in an import/export context.

Certificates and Permits

6. The Minister of Global Affairs Canada has the authority under Special Economic Measures Permit Authorization Orders to issue permits which allow any transaction or activity, or class of transaction or activity that would otherwise be prohibited by the regulations under the Special Economic Measures Act. Such permits provide an exemption to the application of the regulations. Similarly, under the United Nations Act and associated regulations, the Minister of Global Affairs Canada may issue a certificate to exempt an activity from the application of the regulations. The requirements for such certificates and permits are set out in the relevant regulations under the United Nations Act or the Special Economic Measures Act.

Detention and Disposal of Goods

7. The CBSA will review import/export documents such as bills of lading, invoices and certificates of origin issued by the relevant government authority to determine if goods or shipment/transactions are subject to prohibition or control measures. Shipments that appear to be in contravention of the legislation on trade and economic sanctions will be detained based on the authority contained in section 101 of the Customs Act. Immediate contact should then be made with Global Affairs Canada to inform them of a possible infraction of the legislation on trade and economic sanctions, and one of its regulations. The Trade Controls Bureau is responsible for administering the Export and Import Permits Act. The Economic Law Section should be contacted in the event of a suspected violation of the regulations under the United Nations Act or the Special Economic Measures Act.

8. Global Affairs Canada will provide the CBSA with an assessment of whether or not the transaction falls within scope of the legislation on trade and economic sanctions. If Global Affairs Canada determines that the transaction is prohibited by sanctions imposed pursuant to the United Nations Act, it will inform the Department of Justice of its findings. The Department of Justice and the RCMP may then proceed with the execution of a seizure, laying of charges and prosecution for offences under the United Nations Act.

9. Where Global Affairs Canada has determined that the transaction is prohibited by the regulations under the Special Economic Measures Act, and in the absence of a permit request to the Minister of Global Affairs Canada or when the Minister denies such a request, the goods will be forfeited to the Crown.

10. Some of the goods controlled under the legislation on trade and economic sanctions may also be controlled under the Export and Import Permits Act through the Import Control List and Export Control List (e.g., arms and munitions). Global Affairs Canada oversees the Export and Import Permits Act and is responsible for administering this legislation and making decisions regarding whether or not charges should be laid under this Act. For further information about goods controlled under the Export and Import Permits Act, please refer to D19-10-2, Export and Imports Permits Act (Importations).

11. If it appears that a good is being imported or exported in contravention of the legislation on trade and economic sanctions, the CBSA will consult with Global Affairs Canada to determine if charges will be laid.

12. In the event that a CBSA infraction also applies to the importation of any such goods, the goods will be detained by the CBSA. In these situations, the CBSA will consult with Global Affairs Canada to determine if charges will be laid under the Customs Act and/or the legislation on economic and trade sanctions.

13. All costs associated with the detention of goods that are attempted to be exported or imported in violation of the United Nations Act or the Special Economic Measures Act, Export and Import Permits Act and any of the related regulations (e.g., storage, disposal, and transportation) will be the responsibility of the importer/exporter.

Penalties

14. Contravention of this legislation and/or related regulations may result in the application of a penalty.

United Nations Act

15. Section 3.(1)(a) and (b) of the United Nations Act states:

Special Economic Measures Act

16. Section 8. Of the Special Economic Measures Act states:

Additional Information

17. For more information relating to sanctions covered by the United Nations Act, the Special Economic Measures Act and associated regulations, or the process to obtain a certificate or permit contact Global Affairs Canada at:

Economic Law Section (JLHB)
United Nations, Human Rights and Economic Law Division
Global Affairs Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2

Facsimile: 343-203-2451
Email: sanctions@international.gc.ca
Website: http://www.international.gc.ca/sanctions/index.aspx?lang-eng

18. Information relating to the Export and Import Permits Act may be obtained by contacting Global Affairs Canada's Trade Controls Bureau at:

Trade Controls Bureau
Global Affairs Canada
Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, ON K1A 0G2

Telephone: 613-996-2387
Facsimile: 613-996-9933
Email: TIE.reception@international.gc.ca
Website: http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/index.aspx?lang=eng

19. The CBSA Border Information Service (BIS) responds to public inquiries related to import requirements of other government departments, including Industry Canada. You can access BIS toll-free throughout Canada by calling 1-800-461-9999. If you are calling from outside Canada, you can access BIS by calling 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064 (long-distance charges will apply). To speak directly to an agent, please call during regular business hours from Monday to Friday (except holidays), 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. local time.

References

Issuing office:
Commercial Programs Policy and Management Division
Commercial Programs Directorate
Programs Branch
Headquarters file:
 
Legislative references:

Customs Act – Section 101
Export and Import Permits Act
Special Economic Measures Act
United Nations Act
Area Control List
Export Control List
Import Control List
Special Economic Measures (Burma) Regulations
Special Economic Measures (Democratic People's Republic of Korea) Regulations
Special Economic Measures (Iran) Regulations
Special Economic Measures (Russia) Regulations
Special Economic Measures (South Sudan) Regulations
Special Economic Measures (Syria) Regulations
Special Economic Measures (Ukraine) Regulations
Special Economic Measures (Zimbabwe) Regulations
Special Economic Measures (Burma) Permit Authorization Order
Special Economic Measures (Democratic People's Republic of Korea) Permit Authorization Order
Special Economic Measures (Iran) Permit Authorization Order
Special Economic Measures (Russia) Permit Authorization Order
Special Economic Measures (South Sudan) Permit Authorization Order
Special Economic Measures (Syria) Permit Authorization Order
Special Economic Measures (Ukraine) Permit Authorization Order
Special Economic Measures (Zimbabwe) Permit Authorization Order 
Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on the Central African Republic
Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on the Democratic People's Republic of Korea
Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on Eritrea
Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Iran
Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on Lebanon
Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Liberia
Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Libya
Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Somalia
Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on South Sudan
Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolution on Yemen
United Nations Al-Qaida and Taliban Regulations
United Nations Côte d'Ivoire Regulations
United Nations Democratic Republic of the Congo Regulations
United Nations Iraq Regulations
United Nations Sudan Regulations

Other references:
D19-6-4, D19-10-3
Superseded memorandum D:
D19-11-1 dated April 30, 2010
Date modified:

Sanctions économiques canadiennes
Mémorandum D19-11-1

Ottawa, le 16 décembre 2016

ISSN 2369-2405

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (112 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Le présent mémorandum a été mis à jour pour :

  • (a) tenir compte du changement de nom du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international, devenu Affaires mondiales Canada;
  • (b) mettre à jour les renseignements sur le bureau de première responsabilité;
  • (c) actualiser le texte et les liens vers les lois et règlements pertinents, s'il y a lieu.

Législation

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) aide Affaires mondiales Canada à administrer la Loi sur les Nations Unies, la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation et des règlements connexes. Le présent mémorandum énonce les principaux éléments de la législation appliquée par l'ASFC.

2. Le présent document concerne les éléments du régime de sanctions liées à l'importation et/ou l'exportation de marchandises dont l'ASFC participe directement à l'administration. Le document n'inclut pas toutes les mesures pouvant avoir été imposées contre un État étranger, des personnes dans un État étranger ou des personnes désignées (p. ex. restrictions touchant les transactions financières et prestation d'une assistance technique).

3. L'imposition de sanctions économiques et commerciales contre des États étrangers et des acteurs non étatiques représente toujours un important instrument pour la communauté internationale dans l'application des normes et des lois internationales. Le Parlement du Canada a adopté des textes législatifs autorisant l'imposition de sanctions économiques et commerciales grâce à la Loi sur les Nations Unies, la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales et certaines dispositions de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation. Affaires mondiales Canada est le ministère responsable de l'administration de ces lois. L'ASFC et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) aident Affaires mondiales Canada en veillant à l'observation et à l'application des règlements pris aux titres des lois susmentionnées.

4. Les sanctions peuvent être fréquemment modifiées dans un court délai à mesure que la situation internationale évolue, ce qu'elle fait de façon permanente. Pour obtenir les listes les plus à jour des divers pays et groupes visés par des sanctions économiques canadiennes, veuillez consulter les règlements pris au titre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies, de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales et de la Liste des pays visés de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation. Le site Web sur les sanctions d'Affaires mondiales Canada contient les renseignements les plus à jour sur les divers régimes de sanctions.

Interdictions et restrictions relatives à l'importation et à l'exportation

5. Les interdictions et les restrictions relatives à l'importation et à l'exportation associées au régime de sanctions du Canada visent un large éventail de marchandises qui comprennent, entre autres, les armes et les produits connexes, les marchandises de luxe, les armes nucléaires et les marchandises connexes et certaines marchandises de secteurs précis. L'ASFC participe directement à l'application des aspects des règlements liés à l'importation ou à l'exportation de ces marchandises. Tel que défini dans les règlements pris au titre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies et de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, il y a des interdictions liées à la prestation de toute marchandise à une personne désignée ou « dont le nom figure sur la liste » et à toute opération portant sur un de ses biens. Ces interdictions s'appliquent aussi dans le contexte de l'importation et de l'exportation.

Certificats et licences

6. Le ministre d'Affaires mondiales Canada a le pouvoir au titre des Décrets concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations  (mesures économiques spéciales) de délivrer des licences qui permettent des transactions ou des activités ou des catégories de transactions ou d'activités qui, sinon, seraient interdites par les règlements pris en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales. De telles licences offrent une exemption à l'application de la réglementation. Dans un même ordre d'idées, au titre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies et des règlements connexes, le ministre d'Affaires mondiales Canada peut délivrer un certificat pour exempter une activité de l'application de la réglementation. Les exigences liées à l'émission de tels certificats et licences sont définies dans les règlements pertinents pris au titre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies et de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales.

Retenue et aliénation de marchandises

7. L'ASFC examine les déclarations d'importation et d'exportation et d'autres documents tels que les connaissements, les factures et les certificats d'origine délivrés par l'autorité gouvernementale compétente afin de déterminer si les marchandises ou les cargaisons/transactions sont visées par des mesures d'interdiction et de contrôle. Les cargaisons qui semblent en violation des dispositions législatives sur les sanctions économiques et commerciales sont retenues en vertu de l'article 101 de la Loi sur les douanes. Il faut alors communiquer sans tarder avec Affaires mondiales Canada pour l'aviser d'une possible infraction à la législation sur les sanctions économiques et commerciales, et à un de ses règlements d'application. La Direction générale de la réglementation commerciale est chargée d'appliquer la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation. Il faut communiquer avec la Section du droit économique en cas d'infractions soupçonnées aux règlements pris au titre de la Loi sur les Nations Unies ou de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales.

8. Affaires mondiales Canada fournira à l'ASFC une évaluation pour déterminer si, oui ou non, la transaction est visée par les lois sur le commerce et les sanctions économiques.  Si Affaires mondiales Canada détermine que la transaction est prohibée en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies, le ministère informe le ministère de la Justice de ses conclusions.  Le ministère de la Justice et la GRC peuvent alors effectuer une saisie, déposer des accusations et intenter des poursuites en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies.

9. Si Affaires mondiales Canada a déterminé que la transaction est interdite en raison des sanctions imposées au titre de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, et en l'absence d'une demande de licence au ministre d'Affaires mondiales Canada ou lorsque ce dernier refuse une telle demande, les marchandises seront confisquées au profit de la Couronne.

10. Certaines des marchandises contrôlées en vertu des dispositions législatives sur les sanctions économiques et commerciales peuvent aussi être contrôlées au titre de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation par l'intermédiaire de la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlée et la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée (p. ex. armes à feu et munitions). Affaires mondiales Canada est responsable de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation et de son application et décide si des accusations doivent être déposées ou non en vertu de cette loi. Pour de plus amples renseignements au sujet des marchandises contrôlées au titre de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, veuillez consulter le Mémorandum D19-10-2, Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (importations).

11. Si des marchandises semblent importées ou exportées en contravention des dispositions législatives sur les sanctions économiques et commerciales, l'ASFC consultera Affaires mondiales Canada pour déterminer si des accusations seront déposées.

12. Si une infraction liée à l'ASFC a aussi été commise concernant l'importation de telles marchandises, les marchandises seront retenues par l'ASFC. Dans ces situations, l'ASFC consultera Affaires mondiales Canada pour déterminer si des accusations doivent être déposées au titre de la Loi sur les douanes et/ou les dispositions législatives sur les sanctions économiques et commerciales.

13. Tous les coûts associés à la retenue de marchandises qu'on a tenté d'exporter ou d'importer en contravention de la Loi sur les Nations Unies ou de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation ou tout règlement connexe (p. ex. entreposage, aliénation ou transport) incomberont à l'importateur/exportateur.

Sanctions

14. Toute violation de ces lois et/ou des règlements connexes peut entraîner l'application de sanctions.

Loi sur les Nations Unies

15. Les alinéas 3(1)a) et 3(1)b) de la Loi sur les Nations Unies portent que :

Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales

16. L'article 8 de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales porte que :

Renseignements supplémentaires

17. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les sanctions qui relèvent de la Loi sur les Nations Unies, de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales et des règlements connexes ou sur le processus pour obtenir un certificat ou une licence, veuillez communiquer avec Affaires mondiales Canada à l'adresse suivante :

Section du droit économique (JLHB)
Direction du droit onusien, des droits de la personne et du droit économique
Affaires mondiales Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2

Télécopieur : 343-203-2651
Courriel : sanctions@international.gc.ca
Site Web : http://www.international.gc.ca/sanctions/index.aspx?lang=fra

18. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, communiquer avec la Direction générale de la réglementation commerciale d'Affaires mondiales Canada à l'adresse suivante :

Direction générale de la réglementation commerciale
Affaires mondiales Canada
Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0G2

Téléphone : 613-996-2387
Télécopieur : 613-996-9933
Courriel : TIE.reception@international.gc.ca
Site Web : http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/index.aspx?lang=fra

19. Le Service d'information sur la frontière (SIF) de l'ASFC répond aux demandes d'information du public relatives aux exigences en matière d'importation des autres ministères, y compris Industrie Canada. Vous pouvez accéder à la ligne SIF gratuite dans l'ensemble du Canada en composant le 1-800-461-9999. Si vous appelez de l'extérieur du Canada, vous pouvez accéder au SIF en composant le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064 (des frais d'interurbain seront facturés). Afin de parler directement à un agent, veuillez appeler durant les heures d'ouverture, soit du lundi au vendredi (sauf les jours fériés), de 8 h à 16 h, heure locale.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Division des politiques et de la gestion des programmes
Direction des programmes du secteur commercial
Direction générale des programmes
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
 
Références légales :

Loi sur les douanes
Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation
Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales
Loi sur les Nations Unies
Liste des pays visés
Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée
Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlée
Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant la Birmanie 
Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant la République populaire démocratique de Corée
Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant l'Iran 
Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant la Russie 
Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant le Soudan du Sud
Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant la Syrie 
Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant l'Ukraine 
Règlement sur les mesures économiques spéciales visant le Zimbabwe
Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales – Birmanie)
Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (la République populaire démocratique de Corée) 
Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales — Iran) 
Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales - Russie) 
Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales — Soudan du Sud)
Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales — Syrie)
Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales - Ukraine) 
Décret concernant l'autorisation, par permis, à procéder à certaines opérations (mesures économiques spéciales – Zimbabwe) 
Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la République centrafricaine
Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la République populaire démocratique de Corée
Règlement d'application de la résolution des Nations Unies sur l'Érythrée
Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur l'Iran
Règlement d'application de la résolution des Nations Unies sur le Liban
Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Libéria 
Règlement sur l'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la Libye
Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la Somalie 
Règlement d'application de la résolution des Nations Unies sur le Soudan du Sud
Règlement d'application de la résolution des Nations Unies sur le Yémen
Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur Al-Qaïda et le Taliban
Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la Côte d'Ivoire
Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur la République démocratique du Congo 
Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur l'Iraq 
Règlement d'application des résolutions des Nations Unies sur le Soudan

Autres références :

D19-6-4, D19-10-3

Ceci annule le mémorandum D :
D19-11-1 daté du 30 avril 2010
Date de modification :