Kimberley Process – Export and Import of Rough Diamonds
Memorandum D19-6-4

ISSN 2369-2391

Ottawa, December 8, 2015

This document is also available in PDF (77 Kb) [help with PDF files]

In Brief

This memorandum has been updated:

  • (a) to include a link for Kimberley Process Participants previously listed in Appendix A;
  • (b) to replace Appendix A with Required Data Elements for Kimberley Process Certificates;
  • (c) to add a section for in-transit shipments; and,
  • (d) to include information regarding the Single Window Initiative.

This memorandum outlines and explains the legislation, regulations and general guidelines that apply to the exportation and importation of rough diamonds out of or into Canada.

Legislation

Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act – sections 7(1), 8(1), 14(1) and 41(1)(a) and (b)

Customs Tariff

Customs Act – sections 101 and 107(5)

Canada Border Services Agency Act – sections 5(1) and 5(2)

Guidelines and General Information

1. This memorandum contains guidelines and information on the Kimberley Process Certification Scheme for the trade in rough diamonds. On January 1, 2003, the provisions of the Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act and its associated regulations became law. This legislation is the responsibility of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan). The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) will assist NRCan with the border enforcement aspects of the Kimberley Process Certification Scheme.

2. The Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act was introduced as a result of commitments made by several countries, including Canada, that participate in the Kimberley Process Certification Scheme. A list of participants can be found at the following link: Kimberley Process Participants.

3. The purpose of the Certification Scheme is to prevent the international movement of conflict or "blood" diamonds that are being used to fund rebel activities in various African countries. The Scheme requires imports and exports of rough diamonds to be accompanied by valid Kimberley Process certificates (KPCs) and transported in tamper-resistant containers.

4. The Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act defines a rough diamond as "a diamond that is unsorted, unworked or simply sawn, cleaved or bruted, and that falls under subheading 7102.10, 7102.21 or 7102.31 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff…" Diamonds that are cut and polished and ready to be mounted, set or fitted do not fall under the provisions of the Act and do not require a KPC.

5. The Minister of Natural Resources has designated NRCan inspectors and the RCMP to respectively administer and enforce the Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act.

6. The CBSA’s role is to review the KPCs, verify that appropriate containers are used and detain shipments that appear to violate the Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act.

7. Information relating to Canadian diamonds that are exported and then returned to Canada can be found in Memorandum D10-14-39, Canadian Diamonds Exported and Returned.

Import Controls

8. Every person who imports rough diamonds into Canada must ensure that the rough diamonds are in a container that meets the requirements described in the section called Containers and Seals of this memorandum and is accompanied by a KPC (the KPC has to physically accompany the shipment) that:

9. If there are no discrepancies between the KPC and the import documentation at the time of importation, the CBSA will stamp the KPC with the CBSA Integrated Stamp and return it to the importer.

10. The importer or the importer’s authorized agent must forward the KPC, within seven days after import, to NRCan at the address provided in this memorandum in the section called Additional Information.

11. The CBSA will detain shipments if any of the following circumstances occur:

Form B3-3 Coding Requirements

12. Importers should be aware that specific coding requirements apply to imports of rough diamonds that are classified under tariff item Nos. 7102.10, 7102.21, 7102.31 and 9813.00.00.41. The KPC that is required for imports of rough diamonds has a unique identification number. This identification number must be entered in field 26 (special authority) of Form B3-3, Canada Customs Coding Form, at the time of accounting.

13. In most cases, it will be possible to enter the KPC number in field 26 of Form B3-3 as it appears on the certificate. For example, the KPC number that appears on the United States certificate starts with US, while the European Union KPC number starts with EU. However, as the format of the KPC number varies among the participating countries and because there are field limitations, it may be necessary for the importer to modify the number before entering it. The following rules apply when completing field 26:

14. Clients using Customs Automated Data Exchange (CADEX) system and Customs Declaration (CUSDEC) system should refer to the mapping requirements listed in the Electronic Commerce Client Requirements Document, Chapter 14 to find out how to input this number into field 26 of Form B3-3.

15. In the event that an Order in Council applies to the shipment, the Form B3-3 will require a two-line entry because both an Order in Council number and a KPC identification number must be quoted in field 26. The form must be completed as described below:

Export Controls

16. Every person who exports rough diamonds from Canada must ensure that the diamonds are in a proper container that meets the requirements in the section called Containers and Seals and are accompanied by a valid Canadian KPC.

17. At the time of export, if there are no discrepancies between the Canadian KPC and the export documentation, the CBSA will date-stamp the export declaration and exporter’s copy portion of the KPC and return them to the exporter.

18. The exporter or the exporter’s agent must forward the export declaration portion of the KPC, within seven days after export, to the Kimberly Process Office at NRCan at the address provided on the reverse side of the KPC.

19. The CBSA will detain shipments and immediately contact NRCan’s Kimberley Process Office to get instructions on how to proceed if any of the following circumstances occur:

In-transit Shipments

20. As per the Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act, shipments of rough diamonds that are transiting Canada (in-transit shipments) are not considered to be imported into Canada or exported from Canada.

21. In-transit shipments can be seized if they are not accompanied by a KPC certificate or are in a container that has been opened. However, if the Minister of Natural Resources orders the shipment to be returned to the participant who exported it then the rough diamonds cannot be seized.

22. In the event that the shipment transiting Canada cannot make an immediate connecting flight to the final destination, the CBSA will issue the person transporting the sealed container a BSF241, Non-monetary General Receipt and the shipment will remain in CBSA's custody and control until the connecting flight is ready for departure. At that time the CBSA will deliver the shipment, to the person issued the BSF241, at the gate to ensure the goods are exported.

Single-Window Initiative and the Kimberley Process Rough Diamonds Program

23. The-Single Window Initiative (SWI) provides commercial importers with the ability to submit electronic information to the CBSA, in advance of their arrival, through the use of the Integrated Import Declaration (IID) using service option 911. This new service is voluntary and provides the ability for importers and brokers to obtain release of various regulated goods that previously could only be released through a paper process. The IID can be submitted up to 90 days in advance and the trade chain partner will be able to receive border decisions related to the release of the diamonds up to 90 days in advance of their arrival.

24. In order to meet the SWI commitment to reduce paper, a new Document Image Functionality (DIF) has been developed. The DIF, service option 927, allows importers and brokers to electronically submit digital images of documents that traditionally needed to be presented with the importation documentation.

25. The SWI IID Electronic Commerce Client Requirements Document (ECCRD) provides technical and system requirements information. Appendix B of the ECCRD includes a list of required data elements for Natural Resources Canada. For more information on the SWI, please refer to the CBSA Website.

Containers and Seals

26. A container that is used to export or import rough diamonds must be constructed so that it cannot be opened when sealed without showing evidence of having been opened. In addition, a container in which rough diamonds are exported from Canada must be secured with a seal that bears a seal number listed on the accompanying Canadian KPC. If a situation arises where a seal is broken at the time of export from Canada, either as a result of a CBSA examination or damage in-transit, the exporter will be advised to take steps to have the container resealed. In the event that an imported shipment is examined and the seal is broken, the importer will be contacted to determine if he wishes to reseal the container before the goods are released. NRCan should also be informed of any situation where the seal has been broken.

Penalties

27. Subsection 41.(1) of the Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act sets out the following penalties for various offences under this Act: (a) an indictable offence and liable to a fine in an amount that is in the discretion of the court or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 10 years, or to both; or (b) an offence punishable on summary conviction and liable to a fine not exceeding $25,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months, or to both.

28. In the event that a CBSA infraction may also apply to the shipment (e.g., smuggling or false statements are made regarding the country of origin in the case of imports; non-report or false statements are made regarding the destination country in the case of exports), the CBSA will detain the goods and charges may be laid under both the Customs Act and the Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act.

Additional Information

29. For more information on the requirements of the Kimberley Process, contact:

Kimberley Process Office
Minerals and Metals Sector
Natural Resources Canada
580 Booth Street, 10th floor
Ottawa ON K1A 0E4

Telephone: 343-292-8710
1-866-539-0766 (toll-free)
Fax: 613-943-2079

Email: kpc-cpk-canada@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca
Website: Kimberley Process for Rough Diamonds
Office hours: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday to Friday

30. Questions concerning the administration of these procedures from a CBSA perspective should be directed to the CBSA Border Information Service (BIS) online, or call BIS toll-free in Canada at 1-800-461-9999. If you are calling from outside Canada, you can access BIS by calling 204-983-3500 or 506-636-5064 (long-distance charges will apply). BIS agents are available, during regular business hours from Monday to Friday (except holidays), 8:00 to 16:00 local time. TTY is also available within Canada: 1-866-335-3237.

Appendix

Required Data Elements for Kimberley Process Certificates

Note 1: A certificate should bear the title "Kimberley Process Certificate" and have the following statement: "The rough diamonds in this shipment have been handled in accordance with the provisions of the Kimberley Process Certification Scheme for rough diamonds".

Note 2: A Kimberley Process Certificate issued to export rough diamonds from Canada will apply to one shipment, identify the appropriate seal number(s) and be valid for a period of 60 days.

References

Issuing office:
Commercial Programs Policy and Management Division
Commercial Programs Directorate
Programs Branch
Headquarters file:
7935-26
Legislative references:
Export and Import of Rough Diamonds Act
Customs Tariff
Customs Act
Canada Border Services Agency Act
Other references:
D10-14-39, D17-1-4
Forms B3-3 and BSF241
Superseded memorandum D:
D19-6-4 dated April 28, 2009
Date modified:

Processus de Kimberley – Exportation et importation de diamants bruts
Mémorandum D19-6-4

ISSN 2369-2405

Ottawa, le 8 décembre 2015

Ce document est disponible en format PDF (95 Ko) [aide sur les fichiers PDF]

En résumé

Ce mémorandum a été révisé pour y :

  • a) inclure un lien vers la liste des participants au Processus de Kimberley, qui étaient précédemment énumérés à l’annexe A;
  • b) remplacer l’annexe A par les éléments de données requis pour les certificats du Processus de Kimberley;
  • c) ajouter une section pour les expéditions en transit; et,
  • d) inclure les renseignements au sujet de l’Initiative du guichet unique.

Le présent mémorandum énonce et explique la législation, la réglementation et les lignes directrices générales qui s’appliquent à l’exportation à l’étranger ou à l’importation au Canada des diamants bruts.

Législation

Loi sur l’exportation et l’importation des diamants bruts – 7(1), 8(1), 14(1) et 41(1)(a) et (b)

Tarif des douanes

Loi sur les douanes – 101 et 107(5)

Loi sur l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada – 5(1) et 5(2)

Lignes directrices et renseignements généraux

1. Le présent mémorandum renferme les lignes directrices et des renseignements sur le programme de certification du Processus de Kimberley aux fins du commerce international des diamants bruts. Le 1er janvier 2003, les dispositions de la Loi sur l’exportation et l’importation des diamants bruts et de son règlement connexe sont entrées en vigueur. Ces dispositions législatives relèvent de la responsabilité de Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan). L’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) aideront RNCan à exécuter la loi à la frontière relativement au programme de certification du Processus de Kimberley.

2. La Loi sur l’exportation et l’importation des diamants bruts a été adoptée à la suite des engagements pris par plusieurs pays, y compris le Canada, qui participent au programme de certification du Processus de Kimberley. On peut consulter une liste des participants en cliquant sur le lien suivant : Participants au Processus de Kimberley.

3. Le but du programme de certification est d’empêcher le mouvement international des « diamants de sang » qui sont utilisés pour financer les rébellions dans différents pays africains. En vertu de ce programme, les importations et les exportations de diamants bruts doivent être accompagnées de certificats du Processus de Kimberley (CPK) valides, et les expéditions doivent être transportées dans des conteneurs inviolables.

4. Selon la Loi sur l’exportation et l’importation des diamants bruts, un diamant brut est un « diamant non trié, non travaillé ou simplement scié, clivé ou débruté qui figure aux sous-positions 7102.10, 7102.21 ou 7102.31 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires de l’annexe du Tarif des douanes ». Les diamants qui sont coupés et polis et prêts à être montés ou sertis ne sont pas visés par les dispositions de la Loi et, par conséquent, n’ont pas besoin d’être accompagnés d’un CPK.

5. Le ministre des Ressources naturelles a désigné des inspecteurs de RNCan et de la GRC pour, respectivement, appliquer et exécuter la Loi sur l’exportation et l’importation des diamants bruts.

6. Le rôle de l’ASFC consiste à examiner les CPK, à vérifier que les conteneurs appropriés sont utilisés et à retenir les expéditions qui semblent contrevenir à la Loi sur l’exportation et l’importation des diamants bruts.

7. Vous trouverez de l’information sur les diamants canadiens qui sont exportés puis retournés au Canada dans le Mémorandum D10-14-39, Diamants canadiens exportés et retournés.

Contrôles des importations

8. Toute personne qui importe des diamants bruts au Canada doit veiller à ce que les diamants soient placés dans un conteneur conforme aux normes décrites dans la section intitulée « Conteneurs et sceaux » du présent mémorandum et à ce qu’ils soient accompagnés d’un CPK (le CPK doit physiquement accompagner l’expédition) qui remplit les conditions suivantes :

9. Au moment de l’importation, si le CPK et les documents d’importation concordent, l’ASF apposera le timbre intégré de l’ASFC sur le CPK et le remettra à l’importateur.

10. L’importateur ou son mandataire autorisé doit envoyer le CPK, dans les sept jours suivant l’importation, à RNCan à l’adresse précisée dans le présent mémorandum dans la section intitulée Renseignements supplémentaires.

11. L’ASFC retiendra les expéditions dans les circonstances suivantes :

Exigences de codage du formulaire B3-3

12. Les importateurs doivent être informés du fait que des exigences particulières de codage s’appliquent aux importations de diamants bruts qui sont classées sous les numéros tarifaires 7102.10, 7102.21, 7102.31 et 9813.00.00.41. Le CPK qui est exigé pour les importations de diamants bruts a un numéro d’identification unique. Ce numéro d’identification doit être inscrit dans le champ 26 (autorisation spéciale) du formulaire B3-3, Douanes Canada – Formule de codage, au moment de la déclaration en détail.

13. Dans la plupart des cas, il est possible d’inscrire le numéro de CPK dans le champ 26 du formulaire B3-3 tel qu’il apparaît sur le certificat. Par exemple, le numéro de CPK qui figure sur le certificat des États Unis commence par « US », tandis que le numéro de CPK de l’Union européenne commence par « EU ». Cependant, étant donné que le modèle de numéro de CPK diffère parmi les pays participants et que les champs peuvent être réduits, il peut être nécessaire pour l’importateur de modifier le numéro avant de l’inscrire. Les règles suivantes s’appliquent au moment de remplir le champ 26 :

14. Les clients qui utilisent le Système automatisé d’échange de données des douanes (SAED) et la Déclaration en douane (DECDOU) doivent consulter les exigences de correspondance dans le Document sur les exigences à l’égard des clients du commerce électronique, Chapitre 14 pour savoir comment inscrire ce numéro dans le champ 26 du formulaire B3-3.

15. Si un décret en conseil s’applique à l’expédition, le formulaire B3-3 exigera une déclaration sur deux lignes, car le numéro de décret en conseil et un numéro d’identification de CPK doivent figurer dans le champ 26. Vous devez vous assurer que le formulaire est rempli de la façon décrite ci-après :

Contrôles des exportations

16. Toute personne qui exporte des diamants bruts du Canada doit veiller à ce que ceux-ci soient dans un conteneur conforme aux normes décrites dans la section intitulée « Conteneurs et sceaux » et à ce qu’ils soient accompagnés d’un CPK canadien.

17. Au moment de l’exportation, si le CPK canadien et les documents d’exportation concordent, l’ASFC appose le timbre dateur sur la déclaration d’exportation et sur la copie du CPK destinée à l’exportateur et elle remet le tout à ce dernier.

18. L’exportateur ou son mandataire doit envoyer la déclaration d’exportation et la copie du CPK, dans les sept jours suivant l’exportation, au Bureau du Processus de Kimberley de RNCan à l’adresse précisée au verso du CPK.

19. L’ASFC retient les expéditions et communique immédiatement avec le Bureau du Processus de Kimberley de RNCan afin d’obtenir des instructions quant aux dispositions à prendre à l’égard des marchandises dans les circonstances suivantes :

Expéditions en transit

20. Conformément à la Loi sur l’exportation et l’importation des diamants bruts, les expéditions de diamants bruts qui transitent au Canada (expéditions en transit) ne sont pas considérées comme des importations au Canada ou des exportations du Canada.

21. Les expéditions en transit peuvent être saisies si elles ne sont pas accompagnées d’un certificat canadien du Processus de Kimberley (CPK) ou si elles sont dans un conteneur qui a déjà été ouvert. Toutefois, si le ministre des Ressources naturelles ordonne que l’expédition soit renvoyée à la personne qui l’a exporté, alors le diamant brut ne peut être saisi.

22. Dans l’éventualité que l’expédition en transit au Canada ne puisse pas prendre un vol de correspondance immédiatement, l’ASFC émettra un formulaire BSF241, Reçu global pour éléments non monétaires à la personne qui transporte le conteneur scellé et l’expédition demeurera alors sous la garde et le contrôle de l’ASFC jusqu’à ce que le vol de correspondance soit prêt au départ. À ce moment, l’ASFC donnera l’expédition à la personne qui a reçu le BSF241, à la porte d’embarquement afin de s’assurer que les marchandises soient exportées.

Initiative du guichet unique et le programme des diamants bruts du Processus de Kimberley

23. L’Initiative du guichet unique (IGU) offre aux importateurs commerciaux la capacité de soumettre à l’ASFC les renseignements par voie électronique, avant l’arrivée, au moyen de l’option de service 911 de la déclaration intégrée des importations (DII). Ce nouveau service est volontaire et permet aux importateurs et aux courtiers d’obtenir la mainlevée de diverses marchandises réglementées qui pouvait, auparavant, être obtenue seulement dans le cadre d’un processus sur papier. La DII pourra être soumise jusqu’à 90 jours à l’avance, et le partenaire de la chaîne commerciale pourra recevoir les décisions frontalières concernant la mainlevée des diamants jusqu’à 90 jours avant leur arrivée.

24. Dans le but d’honorer l’engagement pris dans le cadre de l’IGU visant à réduire la paperasse administrative, une nouvelle fonctionnalité d’imagerie documentaire (FID) a été créée. L’option de service 927 de la FID permet aux importateurs et aux courtiers de soumettre par voie électronique des images numériques de documents qui devaient habituellement être joints à la documentation relative à l’importation.

25. Le Document sur les exigences à l’égard des clients du commerce électronique (DECCE) décrivant la DII de l’IGU renferme les exigences système et techniques. L’annexe B du DECCE contient une liste des éléments de données requis pour Ressources naturelles Canada. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’IGU, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’ASFC.

Conteneurs et sceaux

26. Tout conteneur destiné à l’exportation ou à l’importation de diamants bruts doit être fabriqué de manière que, une fois scellé, il ne puisse être ouvert sans que cela soit apparent. De plus, tout conteneur utilisé pour l’exportation de diamants bruts du Canada doit être protégé au moyen d’un sceau dont le numéro figure sur le CPK canadien accompagnant l’expédition. Si le sceau est brisé au moment de l’exportation du Canada, par suite d’un examen de l’ASFC ou de dommages subis lors du transit, l’exportateur est avisé qu’il doit prendre des mesures pour que le conteneur soit scellé de nouveau. Si une expédition importée est examinée et que le sceau est brisé, l’importateur sera joint, et on lui demandera s’il veut que le conteneur soit scellé de nouveau avant la mainlevée des marchandises. RNCan doit également être avisé de toute situation où le sceau a été brisé.

Pénalités

27. Le paragraphe 41(1) de la Loi sur l’exportation et l’importation des diamants bruts prévoit les pénalités suivantes pour différentes infractions à cette loi : a) par mise en accusation, une amende dont le montant est fixé par le tribunal et un emprisonnement maximal de dix ans, ou l’une de ces peines; b) par procédure sommaire, une amende maximale de vingt-cinq mille dollars et un emprisonnement maximal de douze mois, ou l’une de ces peines.

28. Dans le cas où une infraction aux lois exécutées par l’ASFC pourrait s’appliquer également à l’expédition (p. ex. contrebande, fausses déclarations concernant le pays d’origine dans le cas d’importations; non-déclaration, fausses déclarations concernant le pays de destination dans le cas d’exportations), l’ASFC retiendra les marchandises, et des accusations pourraient être portées en vertu de la Loi sur les douanes et de la Loi sur l’exportation et l’importation des diamants bruts.

Renseignements supplémentaires

29. Pour en savoir plus sur les exigences du Processus de Kimberley, veuillez communiquer avec :

Bureau du Processus de Kimberley
Secteur des minéraux et des métaux
Ressources naturelles Canada
580, rue Booth, 10e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0E4

Téléphone : 343-292-8710
1-866-539-0766 (sans frais)
Télécopieur : 613-943-2079

Courriel : kpc-cpk-canada@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca
Site Web : Le Processus de Kimberley pour les diamants bruts
Heures de bureau : de 9 h à 17 h, du lundi au vendredi.

30. Pour toute question concernant l’application de la procédure du point de vue de l’ASFC, consultez le Service d’information sur la frontière (SIF) de l’ASFC en ligne ou composez le numéro sans frais au Canada : 1-800-461-9999. Si vous appelez de l’extérieur du Canada, vous pouvez accéder au SIF en composant le 204-983-3500 ou le 506-636-5064 (des frais d’interurbain seront facturés). Des agents du SIF sont disponibles durant les heures normales d’ouverture (de 8 h à 16 h, heure locale, du lundi au vendredi, sauf les jours fériés). Un service TTY est aussi offert au Canada : 1-866-335-3237.

Annexe

Éléments de données requis pour les certificats du Processus de Kimberley

Remarque 1 : Les certificats doivent porter le titre « Certificat du Processus de Kimberley » et contenir l’énoncé suivant : « Les diamants bruts contenus dans cette expédition ont été traités conformément aux dispositions du programme de certification du Processus de Kimberley aux fins du commerce des diamants bruts. »

Remarque 2 : Un certificat du Processus de Kimberley délivré pour une exportation de diamants bruts du Canada s’applique à une expédition, indique les numéros appropriés des sceaux et est valide pour une période de 60 jours.

Références

Bureau de diffusion :
Division de la gestion et des politiques sur les programmes du secteur commercial
Direction du programme commercial
Direction générale des programmes
Dossier de l'administration centrale :
7935-26
Références légales :
Loi sur l’exportation et l’importation des diamants bruts
Tarif des douanes
Loi sur les douanes
Loi sur l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Autres références :
D10-14-39, D17-1-4
Formulaires B3-3 et BSF241
Superseded memorandum D:
D19-6-4 daté le 28 avril 2009
Date de modification :