Advance Passenger Information / Passenger Name Record Program

The Advance Passenger Information / Passenger Name Record (API/PNR) program allows the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) to perform risk assessments on air travellers and crew while they are en route to Canada.

About API/PNR data

What is Advance Passenger Information / Passenger Name Record data?

Air carriers are required by law to provide Advance Passenger Information and all available Passenger Named Record data about all passengers to the CBSA before a flight’s arrival in Canada.

Advance Passenger Information

Advance Passenger Information (API) data is basic information that identifies air travellers and flight crew. It includes your name, date of birth, gender, citizenship, and travel document data (e.g. passport number). This type of information can be obtained from the machine-readable area of your passport. Air carriers collect API data when you check in.

Passenger Name Record

Passenger Name Record (PNR) data is traveller flight reservation and itinerary information collected by air carriers. Specific PNR data that is collected varies from one airline to the next. It includes: type of ticket, date of travel, number of bags, seating information, etc. This type of information is in the commercial carrier's departure control and reservation systems. The CBSA does not require commercial air carriers to gather or provide any additional information that is not already collected for their own business purposes.

How this data is used

This information helps to identify high-risk individuals so they can be flagged for closer questioning and examination when they arrive in Canada.

The API/PNR data is used to identify potential illegal activity such as:

  • Terrorism or terror-related crimes;
  • Human smuggling or trafficking;
  • Narcotics smuggling; and
  • Other serious transnational crimes.

Using the information, the CBSA can understand and respond to criminal activity, and more efficiently process travellers entering Canada.

Privacy guidelines

The CBSA follows strict guidelines to protect the privacy of air travellers and flight crew. All of the information is stored in a secure system accessible only by authorized CBSA officers. How the data is used is subject to an audit process and users are liable for any misuse.

A summary of the API/PNR Program and its privacy implications can be found on the official Info Source web page.

How long is API/PNR data kept?

API/PNR data is kept for three-and-a-half years from the date of receipt and then destroyed. If the subject of API/PNR data is under active investigation, the information is transferred to a CBSA enforcement database and kept for up to six years.

Does the CBSA share API/PNR data?

When collected API/PNR data relates to terrorism or serious transnational crime, the CBSA may share it on a case-by-case basis with other government departments or foreign states. The CBSA will release the minimum amount of data necessary and only to other government departments or foreign states that have committed to provide the data with the same type of protection offered by the CBSA.


D-Memo D1-16-3

Administrative Guidelines for the Provision to Others, Allowing Access to Others and Use of Advance Passenger Information (API) and Passenger Name Record (PNR) Data.

This memorandum provides operational guidelines on the access and use of API and PNR data within the CBSA, as well as on the disclosure of PNR data elements to third parties and outside agencies such as federal institutions, provincial, municipal or foreign governments or agencies.

API/PNR program legislation

Several pieces of legislation govern the CBSA’s authority to collect API/PNR data, including:

The Protection of Passenger Information Regulations, made under IRPA, governs the CBSA's access, use, retention and disclosure of API/PNR data.

Request your data

Requesting your information

If you have flown into Canada on a commercial flight you can request your API/PNR data from the CBSA. You will only have access to your own information. You may also request the data about your child who is under 18.

If you are under the age of 18, you must have a parent or legal guardian sign the access request form.

You do not need to pay a fee to access your API/PNR data.

How do I make a request for my information?

To request access to your information, or to request a correction to the data, you must print and complete the CBSA's Traveller's API/PNR Information Request form and mail it to the following address:

Canada Border Services Agency
Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
333 North River Road
14th Floor, Tower A
Vanier, Ontario
K1A 0L8

In most circumstances, the CBSA will forward you a written response within 30 days once your request is received.

Requesting a correction to your information

If you believe that your API/PNR data is incorrect, you can request that the information be corrected. You will need documentation to support your request. In some cases, the CBSA may decline to make the correction. If this happens, a notation will be attached to the API/PNR data explaining that a correction was requested and refused.

If you are not satisfied with the results of your request, you can submit a complaint to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner and it will be reviewed under the Privacy Act.

For Air Carriers

Program requirements for commercial carriers

Under Canadian law, all commercial air carriers must provide the CBSA with API data and all available PNR data for every traveller, including flight crew, travelling to Canada aboard an aircraft they operate. This information must be provided when the aircraft leaves the last international airport where persons boarded the aircraft before arriving in Canada.

The CBSA considers all aircraft operators engaged in the commercial transportation of persons or goods, regardless of size, to be a commercial air carrier. Examples of commercial air carriers include:

  • Operators of a scheduled air service;
  • Unscheduled charters; and
  • Cargo flights.

Data transmission

As a commercial air carrier, you must provide API/PNR data to the CBSA in an approved format using an authorized method of transmission. Options include:

  • Connecting directly to the CBSA data acquisition system;
  • Arranging for a service provider to connect on your behalf;
  • Sending the data via email;
  • Using the CBSA Internet API Gateway (IAG); or
  • Using a combination of any of the above.

Technical parameters for these methods are detailed in the "Carrier Messaging Requirements (CMR)" document, which is available upon request.

Air carriers that intend to begin service to Canada should contact the CBSA at least six months before commencing flights in order to arrange for the provision of API/PNR data.

Air carriers that fail to comply with the requirement to provide API/PNR data at the prescribed time and manner may be subject to administrative monetary penalties under the Customs Act.

Please note, the CBSA has launched the Interactive Advance Passenger Information (IAPI) initiative, which builds upon the existing API/PNR program.


D-Memo D2-5-11

Administrative and Operational Guidelines for Commercial Carriers for the Processing of Passenger Information Pursuant to the Requirements of the Canada Border Services Agency's (CBSA) Advance Passenger Information / Passenger Name Record (API/PNR) Program.

This memorandum outlines the CBSA requirements and administrative policies regarding the provision of prescribed advance passenger information and reservation information about any person being transported to Canada by commercial air carriers.

Contact information

To help the air transportation industry with the API/PNR Program, the CBSA has established a team of carrier account managers who are responsible for providing commercial air carriers with information on the API/PNR Program. Upon request, account managers will provide the "Carrier Messaging Requirements (CMR)" document and a list of certified service providers. An account manager may be contacted by email at CBSA-ASFC_API-PNR or by telephone at 1-866-4API-PNR (1-866-427-4767) toll-free in North America only.

Programme d'information préalable sur les voyageurs et du dossier passager

Le Programme d'information préalable sur les voyageurs et du dossier passager (IPV/DP) permet à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) d'effectuer une évaluation du risque que présentent les voyageurs et les membres d'équipage pendant qu'ils sont en route vers le Canada.


À propos des données d'IPV/DP

Que sont les données d'information préalable sur les voyageurs et du dossier passager?

En vertu de la loi, les transporteurs aériens ont l'obligation de fournir à l'ASFC l’information préalable sur les voyageurs ainsi que les données du dossier passager disponibles à propos de tous les passagers d'un vol, et ce, avant l'arrivée des passagers au Canada.

Information préalable sur les voyageurs

Les données d'information préalable sur les voyageurs (IPV) sont des renseignements de base qui permettent d'identifier les voyageurs et les membres d'équipage à bord d'un avion. Les données recueillies comprennent le nom, la date de naissance, le sexe, la citoyenneté et des données relatives aux documents de voyage (p. ex. le numéro de passeport). Ce type d'information peut être tiré de la zone lisible par machine de votre passeport. Les compagnies aériennes obtiennent les données d'IPV au moment de votre enregistrement.

Dossier passager

Les données du dossier passager (DP) sont les données portant sur la réservation et l'itinéraire de voyage de la personne, qui sont recueillies par les transporteurs aériens. Selon la compagnie aérienne, les données de DP recueillies peuvent varier. Ces données comprennent le type de billet, la date du voyage, le nombre de valises, le numéro de siège, etc. Ce genre d'information peut être obtenu par le biais des systèmes de contrôle des départs et de réservation du transporteur commercial. L'ASFC ne requiert pas des transporteurs aériens commerciaux qu'ils recueillent ou fournissent des renseignements autres que ceux qu'ils recueillent déjà pour leurs propres besoins opérationnels.

Comment les données sont-elles utilisées

L'information obtenue aide à repérer les personnes à risque élevé devant faire l'objet d'un interrogatoire ou d'un examen plus poussé à leur arrivée au Canada.

Les données d'IPV/DP sont utilisées afin de déceler la participation possible à des activités illégales, comme les suivantes :

  • Terrorisme ou autres crimes liés au terrorisme;
  • Passage de clandestins ou traite de personnes;
  • Contrebande de stupéfiants;
  • Autres crimes graves de nature transnationale.

Grâce à ces données, l'ASFC arrive à mieux comprendre les tendances en matière d'activités criminelles et à prendre des mesures à l'égard de celles-ci, ainsi qu'à traiter de manière plus efficace l'entrée des voyageurs au Canada.

Lignes directrices sur la protection des renseignements personnels

L'ASFC respecte des lignes directrices strictes afin de protéger les renseignements personnels des voyageurs et des membres d'équipage. Tous les renseignements sont conservés au moyen d'un système sécuritaire accessible seulement aux agents autorisés de l'ASFC. La manière dont les données sont utilisées fait l'objet d'un processus de vérification, et les utilisateurs sont responsables de tout usage inapproprié.

Vous trouverez un résumé du programme d'IPV/DP et des aspects concernant la protection des renseignements personnels dans ce contexte sur la page Web officielle suivante : Info Source.

Pendant combien de temps les données d'IPV/DP sont-elles conservées?

Les données d'IPV/DP sont conservées pendant trois ans et demi à partir de leur date de réception, puis détruites. Lorsque les données d'IPV/DP concernent une personne faisant l'objet d'une enquête active, les données sont transférées dans une base de données d'exécution de la loi de l'ASFC et sont conservées pendant au maximum six ans.

L'ASFC communique-t-elle les données d'IPV/DP?

Lorsque les données d'IPV/DP recueillies sont liées au terrorisme ou à un crime grave de nature transnationale, l'ASFC peut les transmettre à d'autres ministères ou pays, au cas par cas. L'ASFC ne transmet que le minimum de renseignements nécessaires et seulement aux ministères ou pays qui se sont engagés à utiliser les données en les protégeant d'une manière similaire à celle utilisée par l'ASFC.

Mémorandum D

Mémorandum D1-16-3

Lignes directrices administratives visant l'autorisation d'accès à quiconque aux données concernant l'information préalable sur les voyageurs (IPV) et au dossier passager (DP), leur fourniture et leur utilisation.

Le mémorandum énonce des lignes directrices opérationnelles pour l'accès aux données d'IPV et à leur utilisation au sein de l'ASFC, ainsi que la communication d'éléments de données du DP à des tiers et à des organismes externes, comme des établissements fédéraux, des gouvernements ou des organismes provinciaux, municipaux ou étrangers.

Lois applicables au programme d'IPV/DP

Plusieurs lois régissent l'autorisation de l'ASFC à recueillir les données d'IPV/DP, notamment :

Le Règlement sur la protection des renseignements relatifs aux passagers, pris en vertu de la LIPR, régit l'accès aux données d'IPV/DP, ainsi que l'utilisation, la conservation et la communication des données d'IPV/DP par l'ASFC.


Demande d'accès aux données

Demande d'accès à vos renseignements personnels

Si vous êtes arrivé(e) au Canada à bord d'un vol commercial, vous pouvez demander à ce que l'ASFC vous communique les données d'IPV/DP recueillies. Vous n'aurez toutefois accès qu'à vos renseignements personnels ou à ceux de vos enfants, si ceux-ci sont âgés de moins de 18 ans.

Si vous avez moins de 18 ans, votre formulaire de demande d'accès doit être signé par un de vos parents ou par votre tuteur légal.

Il n'y a aucuns frais à payer pour avoir accès aux données d'IPV/DP.

Demande d'accès à vos renseignements personnels

Pour accéder à vos données d'IPV/DP ou pour faire une demande de correction de celles-ci, vous devez imprimer, puis remplir le formulaire de l'ASFC suivant, qui se trouve sur le site de l'ASFC : Demande d'accès aux renseignements IPV/DP. Une fois le formulaire rempli, il suffit de le poster à l'adresse suivante :

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
Coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et
de la protection des renseignements personnels
333, rue North River
14e étage, Tour A
Vanier (Ontario)
K1A 0L8

Dans la plupart des cas, l'ASFC vous répondra par écrit dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de votre demande.

Demande de correction de vos renseignements personnels

Si vous pensez que vos données d'IPV/DP sont incorrectes, vous pouvez demander à ce que ces renseignements soient modifiés. Vous devrez fournir des documents à l'appui de votre demande. Dans certains cas, l'ASFC pourrait refuser d'apporter les corrections demandées. En pareil cas, une note est jointe aux données pour expliquer qu'une correction a été demandée, mais qu'elle a été refusée.

Si vous n'êtes pas satisfait(e) du résultat de votre demande, vous pouvez déposer une plainte au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée, qui sera examinée en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.


À l'intention des transporteurs aériens

Exigences du programme pour les transporteurs commerciaux

En vertu des lois canadiennes, tous les transporteurs aériens commerciaux doivent fournir à l'ASFC les données d'IPV ainsi que les données du DP disponibles pour chaque voyageur, y compris les membres d'équipage, qui arrivent au Canada à bord d'un avion qu'ils exploitent. Ces renseignements doivent être fournis lorsque l'avion quitte le dernier aéroport international où des personnes embarquent à destination du Canada.

L'ASFC considère que tous les exploitants d'aéronefs qui exercent des activités de transport commercial de personnes ou de marchandises, peu importe la taille de l'entreprise, sont des transporteurs aériens commerciaux. Voici des exemples d'activités de transporteurs aériens commerciaux :

  • Vols réguliers;
  • Vols nolisés à la demande;
  • Vols de transport de marchandises.

Transmission des données

En tant que transporteur aérien commercial, vous devez fournir à l'ASFC les données d'IPV/DP dans un format et au moyen d'une méthode de transmission autorisés. Voici les moyens de transmission possibles :

  • Connexion directe au système d'acquisition de données de l'ASFC;
  • Recours à un fournisseur de services qui se connectera en votre nom;
  • Envoi des données par courriel;
  • Utilisation de la Passerelle Internet IPV (PII) de l'ASFC;
  • Utilisation d'une combinaison des moyens susmentionnés.

Les paramètres techniques concernant les moyens proposés sont expliqués en détail dans le Guide de mise en œuvre IPV/DP, disponible sur demande.

Les transporteurs aériens qui ont l'intention de commencer à offrir un service au Canada devraient communiquer avec l'ASFC au moins six mois avant le début des vols afin de prendre une entente relative à la transmission des données d'IPV/DP.

Les transporteurs aériens qui ne se conforment pas à l'exigence de fournir les données d'IPV/DP de la manière et au moment prévus s'exposent, selon la Loi sur les douanes, à une sanction administrative pécuniaire.

Mémorandum D

Mémorandum D2-5-11

Lignes directrices administratives et opérationnelles à l'intention des transporteurs commerciaux pour le traitement des renseignements relatifs aux passagers selon les exigences du Programme d'information préalable sur les voyageurs et du dossier passager (IPV/DP) de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC).

Ce mémorandum décrit les exigences et les politiques administratives de l'ASFC concernant la transmission de l'information préalable sur les voyageurs et des renseignements relatifs à la réservation obligatoires pour toutes les personnes qui arrivent au Canada à bord d'un vol d'un transporteur aérien commercial.

Coordonnées

Dans le but d'aider les intervenants de l'industrie du transport aérien concernant le programme d'IPV/DP, l'ASFC a créé une équipe de gestionnaires de comptes qui ont pour mandat de fournir aux transporteurs aériens commerciaux des renseignements à propos du programme d'IPV/DP. Sur demande, les gestionnaires de comptes peuvent transmettre le Guide de mise en œuvre IPV/DP ainsi qu'une liste de fournisseurs de services agréés. Vous pouvez communiquer avec un gestionnaire de comptes, par courriel, à l'adresse CBSA-ASFC_API-PNR ou, par téléphone, en composant le numéro sans frais suivant (en Amérique du Nord seulement) : 1 866 4API-PNR (1 866 427-4767).