Commercial Carrier and Freight Forwarder Identification and Eligibility
Changing your bonded status

Carriers already in possession of an active CBSA carrier code may now change their carrier code’s bonded status without having to apply for a new carrier code.

To apply to change your existing carrier code’s bonded status with the CBSA:

  1. Complete the application form
  2. If the CBSA does not have proof of ownership documents on file for your business, you must provide a copy of:
    • For corporations – article of incorporation or business registration document.
    • For partnerships – certificate of formation or master business licence.
    • For sole proprietorships – photocopy of government issued photo ID.

    Note: Marine carriers may provide their International Maritime Organization (IMO) Unique Company and Registered Owner Identification number in lieu of proof of ownership documents. If you are unsure as to whether the CBSA has the required documentation on file, please contact the Commercial Registration Unit at carrier-cargo@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca.

  3. For non-bonded to bonded: If you are requesting to change your non-bonded carrier code to a bonded carrier code, you must submit the original D120 Customs Bond or other financial security with your completed application.

    For bonded to non-bonded: If you are requesting to change your bonded carrier code to a non-bonded carrier code, you must submit the original Notice of Cancellation for your D120 Customs Bond with your completed application.

  4. An authorized officer representing the company must sign the application form. The authorized officer must have legal signing authority and can include: Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Chief Financial Officer (CFO), President, Vice-President, Owner, Partner, Secretary Treasurer, Executive Director or Director. In the case of a sole proprietorship, only the owner may sign.
  5. Mail the application, the original financial security or Notice of Cancellation, and supporting documentation (if required) to the CBSA at:
    • Commercial Registration Unit
      Canada Border Services Agency
      191 Laurier Avenue West, 12th Floor
      Ottawa, ON K1A 0L8 Canada
    • Photocopies of the bond or the Notice of Cancellation of a bond are not accepted.
Date modified:

Identification et admissibilité des transporteurs commerciaux et des transitaires
Changer votre statut de cautionnement

Les transporteurs qui possèdent déjà un code du transporteur valide de l’ASFC peuvent maintenant changer le statut cautionné de leur code du transporteur sans avoir à faire une demande pour obtenir un nouveau code.

Les procédures pour faire une demande de changement au code de transporteur cautionné avec l’ASFC :

  1. Remplir le formulaire de demande
  2. Si l'ASFC n'a pas de document de preuve de propriété dans le dossier de votre entreprise, vous devez fournir une copie :
    • Pour les corporations – article de constitution ou document d'enregistrement de compagnie.
    • Pour les partenaires – certificat de formation ou licence commerciale.
    • Pour les entreprises individuelles – photocopie d'une pièce d'identité avec photo émise par le gouvernement.

    Note : les transporteurs maritimes peuvent fournir leur numéro de compagnie unique et de propriétaire enregistré au lieu des documents de preuve de propriété. Si vous n'êtes pas certain si l'ASFC possède les documents nécessaires, veuillez communiquer avec l'Unité des inscriptions du secteur commercial à l'adresse électronique suivante : carrier-cargo@cbsa-asfc.gc.ca

  3. Passer de non-cautionné à cautionné : Si vous souhaitez changer votre code du transporteur non-cautionné pour un code du transporteur cautionné vous devez soumettre le D120 – Caution en douane ou une autre garantie financière avec voter demande complétée.

    Passer de cautionné à non-cautionné : Si vous souhaitez changer votre code du transporteur cautionné pour un code du transporteur non-cautionné, vous devez soumettre l'avis d'annulation original pour votre D120 Caution en douane avec votre demande complétée.

  4. Un agent autorisé qui représente la compagnie doit signer le formulaire de demande. L'agent autorisé doit avoir le pouvoir de signature, donc soit un directeur général (DG), un directeur financier, un président, un vice-président, un propriétaire, un actionnaire, un secrétaire-trésorier ou un directeur. Dans le cas d'une entreprise individuelle, il y a seulement le propriétaire qui est autorisé à signer.
  5. Vous devez faire parvenir la demande, la garantie financière originale ou l'avis d'annulation ainsi que les documents pertinents (si nécessaires) à l'ASFC, au :
    • Agrément commercial
      Agence des services frontaliers du Canada
      191, av. Laurier, 12e étage
      Ottawa, (Ontario) K1A 0L8 Canada
    • Les photocopies de cautionnement ou de l'avis d'annulation de la caution ne seront pas acceptées.
Date de modification :