ARCHIVED - General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (15 KB)

Issued January 1, 2014

Classification of goods in the Nomenclature shall be governed by the following principles:

1. The titles of Sections, Chapters and sub-Chapters are provided for ease of reference only; for legal purposes, classification shall be determined according to the terms of the headings and any relative Section or Chapter Notes and, provided such headings or Notes do not otherwise require, according to the following provisions.

2. (a) Any reference in a heading to an article shall be taken to include a reference to that article incomplete or unfinished, provided that, as presented, the incomplete or unfinished article has the essential character of the complete or finished article. It shall also be taken to include a reference to that article complete or finished (or falling to be classified as complete or finished by virtue of this Rule), presented unassembled or disassembled.

(b) Any reference in a heading to a material or substance shall be taken to include a reference to mixtures or combinations of that material or substance with other materials or substances. Any reference to goods of a given material or substance shall be taken to include a reference to goods consisting wholly or partly of such material or substance. The classification of goods consisting of more than one material or substance shall be according to the principles of Rule 3.

3. When by application of Rule 2 (b) or for any other reason, goods are, prima facie, classifiable under two or more headings, classification shall be effected as follows:

(a) The heading which provides the most specific description shall be preferred to headings providing a more general description. However, when two or more headings each refer to part only of the materials or substances contained in mixed or composite goods or to part only of the items in a set put up for retail sale, those headings are to be regarded as equally specific in relation to those goods, even if one of them gives a more complete or precise description of the goods.

(b) Mixtures, composite goods consisting of different materials or made up of different components, and goods put up in sets for retail sale, which cannot be classified by reference to Rule 3 (a), shall be classified as if they consisted of the material or component which gives them their essential character, insofar as this criterion is applicable.

(c) When goods cannot be classified by reference to Rule 3 (a) or 3 (b), they shall be classified under the heading which occurs last in numerical order among those which equally merit consideration.

4. Goods which cannot be classified in accordance with the above Rules shall be classified under the heading appropriate to the goods to which they are most akin.

5. In addition to the foregoing provisions, the following Rules shall apply in respect of the goods referred to therein:

(a) Camera cases, musical instrument cases, gun cases, drawing instrument cases, necklace cases and similar containers, specially shaped or fitted to contain a specific article or set of articles, suitable for long-term use and presented with the articles for which they are intended, shall be classified with such articles when of a kind normally sold therewith. This Rule does not, however, apply to containers which give the whole its essential character.

(b) Subject to the provisions of Rule 5 (a) above, packing materials and packing containers presented with the goods therein shall be classified with the goods if they are of a kind normally used for packing such goods. However, this provision is not binding when such packing materials or packing containers are clearly suitable for repetitive use.

6. For legal purposes, the classification of goods in the subheadings of a heading shall be determined according to the terms of those subheadings and any related Subheading Notes and, mutatis mutandis, to the above Rules, on the understanding that only subheadings at the same level are comparable. For the purpose of this Rule the relative Section and Chapter Notes also apply, unless the context otherwise requires.

Canadian Rules

1. For legal purposes, the classification of goods in the tariff items of a subheading or of a heading shall be determined according to the terms of those tariff items and any related Supplementary Notes and, mutatis mutandis, to the General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System, on the understanding that only tariff items at the same level are comparable. For the purpose of this Rule the relative Section, Chapter and Subheading Notes also apply, unless the context otherwise requires.

2. Where both a Canadian term and an international term are presented in this Nomenclature, the commonly accepted meaning and scope of the international term shall take precedence.

3. For the purpose of Rule 5 (b) of the General Rules for the Interpretation of the Harmonized System, packing materials or packing containers clearly suitable for repetitive use shall be classified under their respective headings.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ - Règles générales pour l'interprétation du Système harmonisé

Contenu archivé

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Version PDF (15 Ko)

Émis 1 janvier 2014

Le classement des marchandises dans la Nomenclature est effectué conformément aux principes ci-après :

1. Le libellé des titres de Sections, de Chapitres ou de Sous-Chapitres est considéré comme n'ayant qu'une valeur indicative, le classement étant déterminé légalement d'après les termes des positions et des Notes de Sections ou de Chapitres et, lorsqu'elles ne sont pas contraires aux termes desdites positions et Notes, d'après les Règles suivantes.

2. a) Toute référence à un article dans une position déterminée couvre cet article même incomplet ou non fini à la condition qu'il présente, en l'état, les caractéristiques essentielles de l'article complet ou fini. Elle couvre également l'article complet ou fini, ou à considérer comme tel en vertu des dispositions qui précèdent, lorsqu'il est présenté à l'état démonté ou non monté.

b)Toute mention d'une matière dans une position déterminée se rapporte à cette matière soit à l'état pur, soit mélangée ou bien associée à d'autres matières. De même, toute mention d'ouvrages en une matière déterminée se rapporte aux ouvrages constitués entièrement ou partiellement de cette matière. Le classement de ces produits mélangés ou articles composites est effectué suivant les principes énoncés dans la Règle 3.

3. Lorsque des marchandises paraissent devoir être classées sous deux ou plusieurs positions par application de la Règle 2 b) ou dans tout autre cas, le classement s'opère comme suit :

a) La position la plus spécifique doit avoir la priorité sur les positions d'une portée plus générale. Toutefois, lorsque deux ou plusieurs positions se rapportent chacune à une partie seulement des matières constituant un produit mélangé ou un article composite ou à une partie seulement des articles dans le cas de marchandises présentées en assortiments conditionnés pour la vente au détail, ces positions sont à considérer, au regard de ce produit ou de cet article, comme également spécifiques même si l'une d'elles en donne par ailleurs une description plus précise ou plus complète.

b) Les produits mélangés, les ouvrages composés de matières différentes ou constitués par l'assemblage d'articles différents et les marchandises présentées en assortiments conditionnés pour la vente au détail, dont le classement ne peut être effectué en application de la Règle 3 a), sont classés d'après la matière ou l'article qui leur confère leur caractère essentiel lorsqu'il est possible d'opérer cette détermination.

c) Dans les cas où les Règles 3 a) et 3 b) ne permettent pas d'effectuer le classement, la marchandise est classée dans la position placée la dernière par ordre de numérotation parmi celles susceptibles d'être valablement prises en considération.

4. Les marchandises qui ne peuvent pas être classées en vertu des Règles visées ci-dessus sont classées dans la position afférente aux articles les plus analogues.

5. Outre les dispositions qui précèdent, les Règles suivantes sont applicables aux marchandises reprises ci-après :

a) Les étuis pour appareils photographiques, pour instruments de musique, pour armes, pour instruments de dessin, les écrins et les contenants similaires, spécialement aménagés pour recevoir un article déterminé ou un assortiment, susceptibles d'un usage prolongé et présentés avec les articles auxquels ils sont destinés, sont classés avec ces articles lorsqu'ils sont du type normalement vendu avec ceux-ci. Cette Règle ne concerne pas, toutefois, les contenants qui confèrent à l'ensemble son caractère essentiel.

b) Sous réserve des dispositions de la Règle 5 a) ci-dessus, les emballages contenant des marchandises sont classés avec ces dernières lorsqu'ils sont du type normalement utilisé pour ce genre de marchandises. Toutefois, cette disposition n'est pas obligatoire lorsque les emballages sont susceptibles d'être utilisés valablement d'une façon répétée.

6. Le classement des marchandises dans les sous-positions d'une même position est déterminé légalement d'après les termes de ces sous-positions et des Notes de sous-positions ainsi que, mutatis mutandis, d'après les Règles ci-dessus, étant entendu que ne peuvent être comparées que les sous-positions de même niveau. Aux fins de cette Règle, les Notes de Sections et de Chapitres sont également applicables sauf dispositions contraires.

Règles canadiennes

1. Le classement des marchandises dans les numéros tarifaires d'une sous-position ou d'une position est déterminé légalement d'après les termes de ces numéros tarifaires et des Notes supplémentaires ainsi que, mutatis mutandis, d'après les Règles générales pour l'interprétation du Système harmonisé, étant entendu que ne peuvent être comparés que les numéros tarifaires de même niveau. Aux fins de cette Règle, les Notes de Sections, de Chapitres et de sous-positions sont également applicables sauf dispositions contraires.

2. Lorsqu'un terme canadien et un terme international apparaissent tous deux dans cette Nomenclature, la signification et la portée du terme international auront la préséance.

3. Au sens de la Règle 5 b) pour l'interprétation du Système Harmonisé, les emballages susceptibles d'être utilisés valablement d'une façon répétée sont classés dans leurs positions respectives.

Date de modification :